We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie 292

Brasserie 292
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie 292 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 278 Restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Market and Academy
Description: Brasserie 292 combines the old-world charm of Poughkeepsie's historic Main Street district with a timeless, classic Brasserie fare. Diners can choose from a menu that boasts an impressive range of selections, from our Raw Bar to the Prime Boneless Ribeye, and includes a diverse wine and beer list. Once a popular garment destination, our inviting dining room has been transformed into a spacious haven that can accommodate over 80 people. We have a simple philosophy at Brasserie 292: use fine, local ingredients coupled with traditional cookery to create an incomparable and exceptional dining experience.
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level Contributor
162 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were searching for a place to have a nice lunch at 1 pm on a Sunday.. Most Poughkeepsie restaurants are closed Sunday or don't open until dinner. We're not brunch people, but -- with no where else to go -- ended up here during Sunday brunch.

Are we glad we gave it a try! The food was delightful -- and it wasn't the usual boring brunch menu. Our entrees ranged from a Salmon BLT, to a lobster club, to an amazing braised beef hash (which we will definitely go back for!)

Don't miss the basket of housemade breads and biscuits. It's pricey, but everything was delicious -- and they boxed the leftovers for us to take home!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank threeonrtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    74
    31
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaGrangeville, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wonderful restaurant with attentive staff and terrific food. Ordered oysters on the half shell which were clean and well presented. Fish was perfectly cooked and not over seasoned. Wait staff couldn't have been more helpful with both the menu and wine list. Decor and atmosphere are terrific. Location can be a bit on the loud side as the bar area was crowded but I would not let that deter me from what will be a wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FD15CAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The atmosphere was great. There were not any booths available when we arrived, so we were seated at a middle table. Knowing that we wanted a booth , as soon as one opened up they moved us.

Cocktails were great. We had the Bees Knees (yummmm) and the Cider Press. Foie gras was one of the best ever.

Will definitely return again and again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had dinner, the food and service was outstanding. The portions were more than ample and very well presented. The French bread was chewy, but the multigrain loaf was soft and delicious. The room is tight and loud, dont go here for an intimate meal, but when you want delicious meal this is the place. I cant wait to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LRbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Another Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Second time to Brasserie 292 in the last 3 months and both experiences were great. Service was excellent and timely. Portions sizes are just right. Meals are very well-prepared. Very creative dishes, especially the dinner specials, with good use of local, fresh vegetables. Would highly recommend for special dinner occasions or business dinner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinojct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie 292 also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie 292? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing