We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant and bar lounge.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bull and Buddha - CLOSED

Bull and Buddha
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Bull and Buddha is located in a newly restored building in the heart of Poughkeepsie's revitalized Main Street. Offering a chic yet casual setting, Bull and Buddha blends an understated urban interior with exotic Asian design elements, including a hand-carved two ton Buddha that greets entering guests from behind the bar. Bull and Buddha offers Modern Pacific Cuisine, with influences spanning from Peru to Japan, and an emphasis on local and seasonal ingredients. The diverse menu offers 26 dishes, each carefully selected and designed for sharing, while our beverage program focuses on the basics done well: bold cocktails, balanced sake and fine tequila. We are excited for you to experience our vision.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and bar lounge.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The New Years Eve meal at Bull and Buddah was very good and I would recommend this place to my friends. The food tasted great and the plating was excellent. I had a filet mignon and my wife had the lobster. We were both very satisfied. The decor is very upscale, similar to Manhattan at half the price. The only knock was the service, our waiter was very nice but clearly over worked. My true rating would be a 4.5

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owhite2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    9
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hadley, MA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu -excellent service-fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was with a group of 7 friends. Excellent tapas plates. Good choice of vegan and non vegan dishes....Something for everyone.........I had mushroom and tofu empanadas and a beef dish that were delicious and had an interesting range of spices and flavors.........what was great was being able to sample many of the items on the menu. All of the dishes that our group sampled were very good to excellent. Great service. Friendly , fast -we went to the theatre- contemporary ambience and hip looking place.......We enjoyed this place quite a bit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Same Decor, New Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Bull and Buddha re-opened a couple of months ago with a new menu featuring Latin-infused Asian fare. The menu has also gone to small plates, so you may want to order two or three items to be satisfied with your meal. On a recent visit, we were served an order of spicy shrimp chips to go along with a well-prepared margarita. We sampled the cold soba noodles with pickled shiitake mushrooms, carrot, toasted garlic and sesame-honey vinaigrette. The only element that lacked any flavor at all was the thin strip of carrot. The rest of the appetizer was a perfect blend of flavors. Fried calamari with thai herb salad, jalapeno and sambal aioli had a spicy bite to it and the calamari was the right mix of crunchy coating and mildly chewy squid. A salmon dish served with rice and a pineapple mango chutney was good. Dessert was outstanding: a coconut tres leches cake -- vanilla cake with coconut mousse on a plate brushed with a mango puree. There's that Asian-Latin fusion blending perfectly.

When the restaurant first opened, it was a local "scene" but was relatively quiet for a Thursday night. The old sushi bar is gone. The decor is still bold and hip. Menu selections are somewhat limited but are supplemented by one or two nightly specials. Of course, you can have one of everything on the menu for $185.

Dinner for two with three plates each and one drink came to just under $70 with tax and before tip. There is often enough parking on Main Street and there is a parking lot behind the restaurant that can accessed from Mil Street, otherwise known as the Westbound 44-55 Arterial.

We would go back again when in the mood for this type of cuisine. Bull and Buddha is a welcome part of an increasingly vibrant downtown PoTown restaurant scene.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable restaurant with good food and drink in Poughkeepsie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Happy hour- Friday evening. Perfect rendezvous with friends. Nice drink menu and we had one of each from the food menu. Sat on comfortable couches and had our visit. Nice margaritas. Parking lot out back. Easy, accessible, in the heart of Poughkeepsie. Friendly attentive service. Cool clean bathrooms. Great party room upstairs! Highly Recommended. Check out the giant Buddha behind the bar- warms you right up.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IleneUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

pleace is beautiful and the food is good. they recently changed the menu to like little appitizers, not any sushi anymore, bummer, but still good

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonomama80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull and Buddha also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing