We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Sudbury
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I needed a place to stay in the POU area (I wasn't location sensitive) and used the blind bidding procedure on Priceline. I don't know if I would have selected it on my own as I usually tend towards a Marriott property when I can. I'm glad Priceline "chose" this property for me (and I'm glad I got a great price!).

There was nothing not to like about the property unless you require all the frills. It met all of my needs: clean, safe, quiet, comfortable. The complementary breakfast was adequate and located in a very pretty, open room looking over a stream. The staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient on check-in/out. Bed was comfortable. Room smelled fresh.

For a few nights' business trip or weekend visit to the area, I would definitely stay here again. You will need a car to do just about anything, as it is located in a quiet residential area. There are a couple of small strip malls about 5-10 minute walk from here. Downtown POU is about 15 minutes; the large IBM facility on South Rd. about 10, as is the Galleria Mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the stream/falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBahstonBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    204
    91
    48
    15
See reviews for
248
181
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oxnard
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Located on a small stream, nice ambiance. Rooms were clean and quiet. Not far from West Point, FDR and Vanderbilt mansions. Also close to Vassar College where you can visit the Loeb Art Center (no charge)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank takeitslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked this on Priceline... asking price was $107 we got it for $58. Clean, spacious, quiet. service excellent with great restaurant suggestions. Offered a lot of food for complimentary breakfast but the food wasn't that good. Would stay there again when in the area, no problem. A great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you, we are always looking for new fresh breakfast items. Our breakfast has so many options and changes with new items all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very nice motel with an exceptionally friendly, helpful staff--Shawn made some excellent dinner suggestions; very clean room, excellent value; location a bit out of town--a plus! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had an excellent stay here at the BW at the Falls. The surroundings are serene, as the water and falls are right out the back door. The rooms are spacious, quiet, comfortable and come with a microwave and mini-fridge. We stayed in a suite and the bathroom is HUGE! The staff were very nice and even had flashlights for us when the power failed (it came back on a couple hours later). They had a basket full of suggestions for places to eat, which was a welcome help for out of towners. There are many attractions close by (Culinary Institute, West Pointe, etc-my suggestion is to check out the foot bridge "Walk Across the Hudson"-very cool & a great way to get a bit of excercise too!) Breakfast was filling, yummy and staff were on hand to make sure that all went smoothly. This will be my place to stay for the next 4 years as my son is going to school in the area!!

Room Tip: The suite has a separate bedroom from the living space-very nice choice for those with teenagers. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We look forward to hosting your stay over teh four years. Thank you for writing such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast is good and the room are big, thats it. The hotel looks like a monastary, the blankett and carpet were dirty, yakkk, the hotel is in a place where there is nothing to do, but at least there is a mall river, nice. The bathroon was clean but not nice at all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RikHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are just 3 miles from the main road which is just a short distance to get to all the area attractions. I am sorry you did not like our serene area off the congested Route 9 area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the first time a week ago. We spent quality time morning and evening on the deck by Wappingers Creek watching a great blue heron, ducks, geese, a cardinal, and fireflies! It was special. The staff here goes out of their way to be helpful. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for creek view side.
See more room tips
Green Features: I would really like to see recycling, at least for mixed paper.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseaOaklandCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
278 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
589 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls

Property: Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Address: 50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603-3260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy complimentary beer and wine daily at our Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We are a new 100% renovated hotel in the Historic Hudson Valley. Near IBM, Vassar and Marist Colleges. We have a beautiful setting along the water to relax after a busy day of site seeing or business meetings. Our hotel offers guests a country setting just minutes from Route 9 and all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. We have a 24 hour business center and state of the art fitness center. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet in the entire hotel and select rooms with Wired High Speed internet also. All rooms have Mircowave and Fridge. Enjoy a Jacuzzi whirlpool in all the King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn And Suites At The Falls
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls Hotel Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing