We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought we picked the #1 rated on TripAdvisor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had planned to have the Best Western Plus Inn and Suites at the Falls, Poughkeepsie , be our hub for the day trips planned along the Hudson River Valley. The location was great, a bit off the beaten path, which we appreciate. The stream running past the property was very nice as well, and would have been even more enjoyable without the din of commuter traffic. We were surprised to notice that the view to this lovely stream from inside the Inn was dimmed by windows that had not been cleaned for months, with cobwebs on the patio railing and weeds coming up through the patio tiles. The room was in good shape, recently refurbished, but not clean. The breakfast preparation area is located directly below the open stairs, with a great deal of guest foot traffic to and from the second floor. The breakfast microwave ignited, with a loud noise, sparks and yellow flame, during our stay. (Was told it was a 'fuse.') The microwave was finally replaced, after another reminder to the front desk staff of real safety issues, with one that was inoperable. The breakfast area waffle maker has no timer. We heard another guest sharing that they had created "an inedible fire hazard." At this point, we chose to explore other hospitality options in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trivialpursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 626 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is located on a little river. The design of the hotel uses a lot of glass which makes it stand out. There is a "breakfast room" that is open and airy. While you're sipping your coffee you can look at the river.
The young woman at the front desk is extremely helpful. She got us checked in our room quickly, suggested a fantastic restaurant and was very friendly.
The room was most importantly clean and very comfortable. There was a flat screen TV & a refrigerator. The bathroom is your typical bathroom. The room has plenty of room for 2 people but was not overly large. We hooked up our computer with no issues.
We felt we got a nice hotel at a good price!

Room Tip: As for a room with a river view it was a pretty view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codergrlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed her overnight a few weeks ago. Its a very nice hotel, away from the busy road. Rooms were very nice, clean and a lovely view overlooking the stream outside.A lovely quiet hotel, well positioned. Would stay there again if i was in the area. I didnt have breakfast but my friends enjoyed what they had. There's a pub just up the road ( The Hobnobbing)which we visited in the evening for dinner. Great, friendly atmosphere, good food, good service by friendly staff. The only thing they could improve on at the hotel is the lack of atmosphere there. Apart from that no complaints.

Room Tip: We were on level 2, the highest floor. There are stairs and an elevator which is great when you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysmileypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

First as others have said the a/c was not on when we got there and the room was hot, there was no refrigerator in the room as promised, the bathtub do not have a rubber bath mat for safety purposes, some of the tv stations were not working and the breakfast was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harvey1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed this past weekend. We picked the hotel based on it's proximity to several sites in the Hudson Valley. It's easy to get to from highways and a much nicer location with the creek than downtown Poughkeepsie.

Pros: Quiet. Close to lots of Hudson Valley attractions. Safe. Good value. Clean where most important - linens, towels, no sign of bed bugs in our room. Surfaces were wiped down, rugs were vacuumed. Free breakfast was adequate. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Too many corners cut on cleanliness. I went to open windows in our room to find the sills covered in dust and the panes filthy. In fact all the windows we passed were dirty including in the first floor corridor and the windows looking out to the creek in the breakfast room.
The bottom of the shower look clean but there were areas of mold on the ceilings and walls. The bottom of the jacuzzi looked clean but the recesses around the jets looked suspect.
Just a little more effort is needed.

I would stay again and hope that they try to improve.

Room Tip: It's pretty quiet in general but try to get a room facing the creek rather than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afuab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were in Poughkeepsie to walk the Poughkeepsie-Highland bridge across the Hudson plus visit the FDR and Eleanor Roosevelt homes. We stayed at the Best Western (not our normal choice of motel/hotels) and really enjoyed it. The two young ladies on duty when we checked in could not have been nicer or more helpful. The room was clean, beds fine and I really liked the terrace on the first floor where you sit just above Wappinger's Creek, have your breakfast or a drink and watch the stream go by. A very picturesque setting. The breakfast was ok and there is a small bar that operates at night. I would recommend this motel highly and will definitely stay there again as we plan to return in the fall to attend a Culinary Institute of America course.

Room Tip: We were on second floor, used the elevator, it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We decided to find somewhere to stop on the drive between Washington and Plymouth mass,
One of our crowd said poughkeepsie. What a great surprise as none of us had ever heard of the place. When you drive up the entrance is through an arch.
Reception is very welcoming the young lady behind the counter was excellent.
The big bonus is the view outside where thier is a river and waterfall perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodlebugxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poughkeepsie
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
438 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
272 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
620 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls

Address: 50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603-3260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: $117 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy complimentary beer and wine daily at our Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We are a new 100% renovated hotel in the Historic Hudson Valley. Near IBM, Vassar and Marist Colleges. We have a beautiful setting along the water to relax after a busy day of site seeing or business meetings. Our hotel offers guests a country setting just minutes from Route 9 and all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. We have a 24 hour business center and state of the art fitness center. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet in the entire hotel and select rooms with Wired High Speed internet also. All rooms have Mircowave and Fridge. Enjoy a Jacuzzi whirlpool in all the King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls Hotel Poughkeepsie
Best Western Plus The Inn And Suites At The Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing