We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give the Manager a Raise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
1 review
“Give the Manager a Raise!”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

A great room, a nice breakfast. The best customer service on the planet. I inadvertently left my purse at an area restaurant and the manager personally drove me to the restaurant to pick it up. Without it, and without being able to meet the restaurant owner within a ten minute window during which he was available, I would have missed my cab, my train, and my plane. The kindness of the manager was above and beyond. She restored my faith in humanity.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpetBagColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    266
    105
    28
    21
See reviews for
318
215
38
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in a king study suite. The hotel is new but has not been taken care of and the cleaning staff is poor to non existent. Perhaps the slow economy has forced staff cuts but it does not excuse the lack of amenities. Our room was not cleaned between guests when we checked in. The bed was made, but the floors, carpets, and furniture had hair, dirt, drink rings, and stuff on the mirrors, etc. Towels, bath mat, shampoo, etc. were missing. We asked if they would put us in another room and were told that no other suites were available. There were at most 30 other people staying in this hotel. After looking at a smaller room without the features we paid for, we decided to keep our dirty room. It was comped. We asked if they would at least vacuum the room and were told no staff was available. They were kind enough to bring us a vacuum. I vacuumed the carpets and cleaned the room. Day 2, no cleaning. They removed the trash and dirty towels, made the bed with no new linens and told me they were out of fresh towels and would bring some later. No one ever came back. Day 3, I left a note and the room was cleaned properly. Day 4 same treatment as day 2...no towels, shampoo or cleaning done. I vacuumed my room agian and got my own towels.
The HVAC units are a combination of the old style window units and a digital thermostat. No fan speed at the thermostat and no matter what you set the temp at, you had 2 choices, 64 and 72.
Jennifer at the front desk was apologetic and helpful. She is the main reason we remained at the hotel.
Stay anywhere else until they get their act together.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OCC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Decided to go take a look at the history along this part of the Hudson River and booked in to this Hampton Inn for the 4th of July weekend-Friday and Saturday night.
When booking on line asked not to be placed on the ground floor and was given a suite on the third floor. It was a wonderful size room with a King size bed, sleeper sofa, arm chair, dining table/work desk, swivel chair, extra chair, coffee table, two more smaller coffee tables, flat screan t.v, sink, microwave, fridge and plenty of drawer space. The hand wash basin was outside the bathroom and the bathroom had a large walk in shower. I rang down to reception and asked if we could have a room exactly the same as this but with a bath and overhead shower, the young friendly man at reception moved us to the room next door which had a bath.
The bed was comfortable (medium to soft).
We had a look around the Hotel before breakfast the next morning and found the swimming pool but it was locked until 8am so can't give a review on that. Next door was a gym with high tek equipment and all but one piece of equipment had television's attached.
The dining room was great with very comfortable chairs and plenty of tables for everyone, probably seats about 60+ people with ease, which is so rare. The food was really good, all fresh assortment of juices, cereals, yogurts, fruit, cakes, toast, bagels and hot scrambled eggs with ham and melted cheese for Saturday, Sunday it was hot sausage and egg. All very clean.
Tons of car parking spaces and well lit......I only have one niggle, the windows need cleaning both inside and out, eveything else was great and the area along the river for sightseeing is fascinating.
Finally:We also found out that when we stay here again it would be fun to hop on a train at Poughkeepsie station and take a ride in to NEW YORK to avoid the traffic and high price hotels. It seems to run along the river which would be really nice. There are also wonderful wineries in this area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PansyPotter02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Best Hotel. Excellent Customer Service, Excellent food, Excellent rooms.. and list goes on. don't have any bad reviews for this brand new Hampton, Poughkeepsie. 100% recommended

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

It's hard to imagine a hotel having a room as large as the one here. Traveling with our 3 college kids, I booked this room after reading the reviews about the large room. But I couldn't have imagined how nice and huge this room actually was. It was a beautiful room with great beds a comfortable pull out sofa sleeper, great bathroom setup with the vanity outside the shower area, a nice bar area with kitchen and microwave and a great tv and desk area. The room was beautifully decorated and the hotel was very nice. Everyone loved the breakfast - nice choices of cereals and fruits and served with great hospitality. Such a great value. Without a doubt the nicest Hampton Inn we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsFuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The hotel was very reasonably priced, we were soooo impressed when we got to the place. The room was large and beautifully decorated. Everything was extremely clean, the bathroom was beautiful. We did not use most of the extras (i.e. the pool, wireless, etc.) however we did take advantage of the continental breakfast which was what you would normally expect: cereal, pastries, coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit, yogurts and breakfast sandwhiches.

VERY VERY IMPRESSED, absolutly reccommend!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnic0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

My husband had business in Poughkeepsie and my daughter and I went for the ride to visit the Hyde Park area. We stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night. The rate was very reasonable and the staff at the front desk were all very pleasant and helpful. We had a huge 2 queen bed suite. The one thing I would have preferred was that the sink be separate from the suite area. The sink was located outside of the bathroom and partly in the suite area. I would have preferred more privacy. (Perhaps other rooms have a different lay out). Other than that it was a very nice hotel. It is right off Rt. 9 and easy to get to. We rented a car from Hertz which is right down the street from the hotel. The hot breakfast which is free was very good. They even have a hot to go breakfast in the morning if you don't have time to sit down for breakfast. Since the hotel does not have a restaurant for dinner , we ordered from an Italian restaurant that was located right next to the hotel. They delivered right to the hotel room which was very convenient. If you're in the area I would recommend visiting the Vanderbuilt Mansion and the gardens located in Hyde Park. We also had lunch at the CIA which was a really fun experience. The campus is beautiful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again for its convenience and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somanyoptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Address: 2361 South Rd, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#1 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie hotel, situated in the heart of the Hudson Valley, right next door to IBM HQ. Our inviting hotel is located near exciting kayaking, fishing and boating opportunities. Enjoy a day's shopping at the Poughkeepsie Galleria or play golf with friends on local courses. Explore Marist College and Vassar College, and discover a range of art galleries on Main Street and the Waterfront only minutes away. Take advantage of easy access from NYC with the Metro North (MTA), just 5 miles from the hotel. Unwind in a comfortable guest room and enjoy a range of amenities for your comfort and convenience. Relax with a movie and choice of premium channels on a LCD TV when staying at this hotel in Poughkeepsie, NY. Catch up with work at the desk and stay connected with business using our WiFi. Rest easily on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Choose a spacious suite with a seating area and in-room microwave and refrigerator, or unwind in one of the whirlpool suites. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) in the restaurant or grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag and enjoy breakfast on the go. Work out in the fitness center or revive with a refreshing swim in the pool while staying at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie. Stay in touch with work in the business center and hold successful meeting and conferences in our two versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing