We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Friendly desk agents; fine array of breakfast items; good mattress; perfect location for meeting family from NYC; close to tourist interests (FDR Hyde Park, pedestrian bridge over the Hudson, hiking in hills, West Point). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing us a great review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    266
    105
    29
    21
See reviews for
322
215
38
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in past 3yrs over 6 times. Last time in past March and my stay was always great; however this time around was horrible. The staff was not as pleasant as before. Front entrance was clatter with dirt and garbage all over. Ask to talk to manager was told no one is available to talk to me. At 920 am on Saturday there was no hot breakfast left had to wait for almost 30min for eggs. Lobby had moldy smell and pool water was yellow. I am not sure what happen to this hotel it feels like people who work there before are no longer there and those who work there now don't know how to smile. will never stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grzegorz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest, We are so sorry we were not able to provide you with the same quality of service you have come to expect from us during your recent stay. As you know, this is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we will use your comments as we constantly work to improve our customer experience. I apologize that there was no manager on duty at the time of your request. We strive to offer the fresh and hot breakfast to our guest and we apologize that there was a wait.

Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will continue to stay with us when visiting the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The accommodations at the Hampton Inn were very nice. Staff was nice, but could have been more accommodating with their guests. The breakfast is good, but a step up from the usual would really enhance the experience. The hotel needs to take some lessons from the Culinary Institute up the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and staying with us. We will certainly consider your comments about breakfast and try to implement. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Our goals is to acheive customer satisfaction and we strive to acheive that. Please visit us again in the future if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It did the job for an overnight stay. Nice was fast, and met the requests when I made the reservation online. Nice job Hampton! Room was large and modern, although the lap desk was filthy with some black stuff on it. Ew. How did housekeeping miss that? Large bathroom, too. Breakfast was also great, like all Hamptons. The breakfast attendant was very nice. Close to Vassar College, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelman325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comment about the lap desk to our Housekeeping Manager. Our goal is customer satisfaction. Please do visit us when you are in area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glens Falls N.Y., United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Was at this hotel for a weekend baseball tournament, hotel staff very helpful to our team's needs and hotel very centrally located to all areas shops and eateries, rooms clean,breakfast good would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for sending us positive feedback. We are glad that we were able to achieve your satisfaction. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

5 + false fire alarms resulting in 3+ hours sleep, and only 100 dollars off room.I understand this was a mechanical problem however they did NOT honor 100% satisfaction guarantee. It was hard to drive home after only 3 hours sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration the fire alarm incident has caused you. We strive to make every guests' stay with us a pleasant one and we regret this mechanical issue prevented that. We welcome you to contact our offices directly if we may be of any additional assistance and hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I traveled to the hotel to visit the CIA in Hyde Park, and I was unfortunately disappointed by my stay at this hotel. We arrived by train, and called the taxi service recommended by the front desk at the hotel, but they never showed up to the station. When we finally arrived we opened our hotel room door to find stained carpets and a musty smell. The front desk employee upgraded us, which we appreciated, but although the room was bigger it was not much better. The smell still filled the room and the carpets were oddly damp. Other disappointments included- waiting an hour for towels, no cookies in the lobby, and the maids opened all the window drapes while cleaning, exposing our bags to anyone passing by. The highpoint of our stay was that the front desk employes who were very nice and courteous, but as for the hotel- it needs serious updating if I was ever going to return again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the poor reception you received and that you were disappointed in your guestroom. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the value and hospitality you expect and deserve from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
272 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
568 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Address: 2361 South Rd, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie hotel, situated in the heart of the Hudson Valley, right next door to IBM HQ. Our inviting hotel is located near exciting kayaking, fishing and boating opportunities. Enjoy a day's shopping at the Poughkeepsie Galleria or play golf with friends on local courses. Explore Marist College and Vassar College, and discover a range of art galleries on Main Street and the Waterfront only minutes away. Take advantage of easy access from NYC with the Metro North (MTA), just 5 miles from the hotel. Unwind in a comfortable guest room and enjoy a range of amenities for your comfort and convenience. Relax with a movie and choice of premium channels on a LCD TV when staying at this hotel in Poughkeepsie, NY. Catch up with work at the desk and stay connected with business using our WiFi. Rest easily on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Choose a spacious suite with a seating area and in-room microwave and refrigerator, or unwind in one of the whirlpool suites. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) in the restaurant or grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag and enjoy breakfast on the go. Work out in the fitness center or revive with a refreshing swim in the pool while staying at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie. Stay in touch with work in the business center and hold successful meeting and conferences in our two versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing