We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed Our Email”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the first Hampton Inn that did not respond to our email relating to our upcoming visit to their property. We are Hilton Honors members and love staying at the Hilton properties as we celebrate special occasions such as birthdays, anniversary and holidays while we get away from a quite hectic work schedule. We wished to visit the Vassar Art Museum at the college, the Falcon Jazz Club in Marlboro, NY and hike the scenic Hudson River trails- (all which were fabulous and well worth the trip, especially The Falcon - great music venue run by Tony Falco!), and our home base was this Hampton Inn in Poughkeepsie. We always spell out in an email to the hotel how excited we are to visit their area and the reason for such, this time it was to celebrate a birthday. We usually are greeted at the front desk when we check in with a joyous greeting specifically citing the reason for our celebratory weekend; at the Poughkeepsie Hampton Inn, not a single word was mentioned. We also usually get a card with a special little gift in our room; this time we had nothing. After checking in and leaving to go out for dinner, I actually stopped and asked the front desk if they read our email, and they admitted "No, we did not" and left it at that. I am sure that this was a slight oversight, and that we truly are spoiled by the excellent service and considerations of the other Hilton properties we have emailed and stayed at. The hotel itself was OK, but next time, I will stay at another Hilton property in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Wilson,

Thank you for reaching out to us prior to your stay and again via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we are so sorry for missing your original correspondence. We do our best to make every guest feel valued and welcome and I apologize for the mismanagement of the situation. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and hope you will give us a second chance to show you the quality hospitality you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Monika Wojcik-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 881 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn located in Poughkeepsie. It's definitely the nicest hotel I've stayed at in that area. The staff was friendly and the room was decent. Nice little breakfast area. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We truly do have an amazing staff and they do such a great job to make sure that our guests feel at home and have an exceptional stay - thank you for noticing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were looking for a hotel for our visit to Hyde Park and came across the Hampton Inn - I was a little worried but it really exceeded expectations - this is not a luxury hotel but for the price point I was very satisfied. (note - we were very lucky and got a deal on priceline)

Pros:
Our room was on the first floor and very big
There was a sink outside the bathroom that made getting ready in the morning SO fast -can't say what a relief this was
The room was quiet and clean
Beds were pretty comfortable
Shower had hot water and good water pressure
We had enough towels and did not have to request more
Toiletries - shampoo, conditioner, lotion (the basics)
There was an extra sink, fridge and microwave (definite nice to have)
Wifi worked great and was really easy to log into

Cons:
Breakfast was terrible (this didn't bother us much but wanted to mention)
There were spiders in the room (just kind of weird)
The room was hot - we tried turning down the thermostat to mid-sixties but it stayed in the seventies so I'm not sure what the air-con was doing

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overpack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you from the team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie NY for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I'm sorry that you found our breakfast to be short to what you expect. I will share your comments with my breakfast team and find a better solution for our breakfast offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

stayed @ the Hampton one night to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. The room was big, nice and clean. Some stains on the carpet. My biggest disappointment was the lack of customer service at check in. Nothing was explained to me and i felt rushed out. My bill was slipped under my door and housekeeping came knocking way before my check out time which made us feel like we were being rushed out. The hotel is very nice, they just need to work on those things. I would stay here again if they work on their customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tameka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Tameka,

I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service at check-in and assure you this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed the issue with our staff and the next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience an improved level of customer service.
Monika Wojcik-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

4 ladies met for a reunion and we had adjoining rooms - nice living area with refrigerator. everything was super clean and spacious. we took our snacks downstairs to the outside patio in the late afternoon. I was able to us the gym facilities with new disposable ear buds and a tv on each machine to help pass the time. We enjoyed our leisurely complimentary breakfast each morning. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: we had one suite with living space and refrigerator and extra sink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I've shared your kind words with our entire staff and they are delighted to know you enjoyed your visit. Your feedback is truly valued. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Poughkeepsie, NY. Please contact us for your next reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our two teenage sons. We rented a room with two queen beds and sofa bed. The room was very spacious and comfortable and clean. We were visiting the Culinary Institute of America and location was about 7 miles, but still convenient and easy shot to CIA. The staff was very nice and pool and spa were nice. We would definitely stay here again. The only suggestion is to bring your own pillow as there pillows were too soft for my taste.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeybny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for submitting your feedback regarding your stay with us in ….. The entire staff truly appreciates your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please contact us the next time your travels bring you to Poughkeepsie, NY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I love Hampton Inns. The rooms are nice size, well-kept and the staff is always very helpful. The breakfast room here is very nice. I would say I have had better breakfasts at other Hamptons, but it was adequate. For the money, it is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank cathycnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments with our staff and they were very thankful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poughkeepsie
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
444 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
290 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
279 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Address: 2361 South Rd, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: $112 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie hotel, situated in the heart of the Hudson Valley, right next door to IBM HQ. Our inviting hotel is located near exciting kayaking, fishing and boating opportunities. Enjoy a day's shopping at the Poughkeepsie Galleria or play golf with friends on local courses. Explore Marist College and Vassar College, and discover a range of art galleries on Main Street and the Waterfront only minutes away. Take advantage of easy access from NYC with the Metro North (MTA), just 5 miles from the hotel. Unwind in a comfortable guest room and enjoy a range of amenities for your comfort and convenience. Relax with a movie and choice of premium channels on a LCD TV when staying at this hotel in Poughkeepsie, NY. Catch up with work at the desk and stay connected with business using our WiFi. Rest easily on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Choose a spacious suite with a seating area and in-room microwave and refrigerator, or unwind in one of the whirlpool suites. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) in the restaurant or grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag and enjoy breakfast on the go. Work out in the fitness center or revive with a refreshing swim in the pool while staying at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie. Stay in touch with work in the business center and hold successful meeting and conferences in our two versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing