We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Favorite!”
Review of Cafe Adirondack

Cafe Adirondack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Relocating from Myrtle Beach and specializing in Coastal Carolina Cuisine, classically trained chef/owners Tony and Ann take pride in offering wonderful food, reasonable prices, and great friendly service! We're the hottest spot in the North Country! We are thrilled to be serving you from our NEW location at 5 Olmstedville Rd. still in Pottersville- just a half mile south of the old location at the intersection of Rt. 9 and Olmstedville Rd. Still the same menu...same great staff...a little more space in an awesome Adirondack atmosphere!
Pottersville, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local Favorite!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The line of cars outside every day at 5 O'clock tells the whole story. So, you'd better be there by 5 O'clock. Good food, good people. And it's "First come, first served, BYOB". What's not to like!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RailroadsOnParade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    38
    11
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First rate restaurant in an unlikely location”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

From the road, this looks like an old summer cottage with not much going for it. Inside it is a very good restaurant with outstanding service and interesting,eclectic decor. The soup of the day,seafood gumbo was unusual and could become addictive, it was that good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An absolute pleasure!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I am embarassed to admit that we live only 11 miles from this restaurant and last night was our first visit. If you drive by Cafe Adirondack, it looks as though it could be someone's small, charming cottage. Nothing about its exterior could prepare you for the delights that await you inside. You enter through a small glass enclosed room that has two tables for diners and a seating area for those who are waiting. The interior room is an eclectic mix of french and Adirondack touches. The dining area seats approximately forty. We were at table one near the front of the dining room and with a view of the enclosed porch.
There were four of us. The gentlemen started with the tomato basil soup which they raved about. Salads were fresh with several choices for dressing, all except the vinergarettes were home-made. My husband had the blue-cheese and loved it. I had the balsamic vinergarette and it was excelltnt. Then we had entrees including petite medallion, crab cake dinner, and filet mignon. We finished this off with two Key Lime Pies, Bread Pudding and Chocolate Cake. I might add that I NEVER order dessert, but the Bread Pudding just could not be declined.
The restaurant's policy is that guests may bring their own liquor, but they will uncork and pour for no extra charge! There is a limit of one bottle of wine for two customers.
Last night there were two DELIGHTFUL waitresses on duty. Susan was our waitress and she was funny and charming. Jessica, the other waitress, did stop by to say hello, so that you felt very much at home and among friends.
Absolutely DO make reservations. This restaurant is extremely popular. When we called two days before we wanted to dine, we had a choice of 5:00 or 8:00. Since we are all 60 plus, we choose the earlier time and are so glad we did. Our table overlooked the sitting area and by 6:15, pleople were arriving for the next sitting and had to wait, whereas at 5:00, we just walked right in to our table.
This will now become one of our go-to restaurants for ourselves and when entertaining visitors

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jantor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a lovely little restaurant with a charming staff. The food is very good and consistent. Will be making a reservation to return when we head back up that way next month

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cherieamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We arrived at 5:08pm, as the restaurant opens at 5pm, and they could not accommodate us!!! This was for a family of five!! Very disappointing being that they were not close! They should include on their webpage that you must have reservations or they don't have room for you! Must be a tiny restaurant!!! Very upsetting, will never go back again after this experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotinthekitchen, Owner at Cafe Adirondack, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I am so sorry you had this experience and we were not able to accommodate your family! Here is a direct quote from our website: "We offer an intimate 45 seat dining room with a seasonal enclosed porch, so reservations are highly recommended...and essential on most evenings! Call us at 518.494.5800"
I would actually recommend that you call ahead to any restaurant in the Adirondacks during the months of July and August as this is our peak season and most restaurants are very busy, especially the good ones. Enjoy the Adirondacks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Adirondack also viewed

 
Chestertown, NY
 

Been to Cafe Adirondack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing