We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local Diner”
Review of Black Bear

Black Bear
Cuisines: American, Bar, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: breakfast lunch dinner /bar
Minerva, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Local Diner”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Black Bear is just off Exit 26 of the Northway in NY. It has good nourishing food, cheap prices, friendly service and a pleasant Adirondack decor. The meatloaf is very, very good, hambirgers come in different sizes and vegetables are always fresh. Think of it as a diner without the diner look. In addition there is a bar, often populated by locals. Bathrooms are clean. It is an easy on/off location for travelers!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jantor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    13
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The last time we went to this place [forever]”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

we were reluctantly served still frozen [and raw in the middle] fried chicken and no one really ate their meal - blech

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cherieamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Tourist trap: Black Bear Restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Food was far less pleasing than these other reviews would indicate. A chili dog (Michigan I think they call it) with chili that tasted more like candy and a cold hot dog on a hard toasted bun. Yuck! No offer of drink refill and flies buzzing around. Staff seemed unconcerned about providing service. Can't imagine why anyone would go there twice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Might have been a fluke but...”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The food here was great - awesome breakfast. However, the service was not good. I was with a group of 3 and after 45 minutes of no food, the waitress told us a group of 20 people had come in and their order was put in first. It took 1.5 hours for us to get our food. They could have at least provided us a free appetizer or given us a discount.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarantular50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au Sable Forks, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over Time”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Remembered Black Bear restaurant when I was barely old enough to walk. I87 was not built yet. Since then I frequent the restaurant 1 or 2 times a week for years. (I live 70 miles away) Food, atmosphere, and service has been consistent for years. If you expect fancy cuisine or slop, don't stop. If you expect "real cooking" like we experience on a routine basis then you should stop. With several different waitresses don't get discouraged if one happens to be having a bad day. Service is good. They definitely don't skimp on the butter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 53DaveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing