We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”
Review of Railroads on Parade - CLOSED

Railroads on Parade
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thrill to RAILROADS ON PARADE, the Model Railroad Extravaganza. Five magical miniature worlds of model trains provide a first class journey for dreamers of all ages. Seen by over seven million people nationwide and now seen together for the first time, this 5,000 square foot indoor attraction includes the famous four season display THE STATION (seen for over twenty years in New York City), the breathtaking 110 foot long HELLGATE BRIDGE exhibit from Williamsburg, Virginia, NYC SUBWAYS, the 1939 WORLD’S FAIR and, new for 2012, the PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND exhibit. Over Fifty trains and trolleys plus animations, neon signs, computerized day-night lighting combined with amazing scenery and backdrops round out your unforgettable experience. Family and Senior friendly, this indoor one-level, ADA compliant attraction is a "must-see" for everyone.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Took our 14 month old here today! He loved it & so did we! Very cool display of model trains. Many trains running in several different settings! Staff was extremely friendly!

Thank cf327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

23 - 27 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This museum was one huge room of trains and displays that would move and go around. They had a ton of tracks and it was really well done. There are cities surrounding the tracks, they have roads, and all this cool stuff. it was expensive for what it was but if you are into trains, id say go for it.

Thank Bkaplan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RailroadsOnParade, Owner at Railroads on Parade, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I'm very glad the reviewer thinks that the exhibits at Railroads On Parade are awesome. I think so too. But at less than the cost of a neighborhood movie I'm not so sure about the expensive part. We'd love to have free admission for Railroads on Parade, but that's not the way the world works nowadays. Where else can you spend as much time as you like for that price? Some spend as much as four hours looking at all that "awesome" detail, buy a Season Pass, and come back over and over again. And talk about bargains, our Season Pass is a real winner. Next, see our Website (www.RailroadsOnParade.com) for "Dollar-Off" discounts for everyone and even larger discounts for Groups.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

One large-ish room contains many working trains in different scenes. The lights shift to represent day/night. It was a little pricey for what it was. We spent less than 1hr & paid $12/adult.

Thank TeresaChy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RailroadsOnParade, Owner at Railroads on Parade, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

It takes all kinds and all sorts of people to make this world go around, so by all means one must respect this person's opinion. As their opinion. However, I would suggest that after you read this review that you read a few of the other reviews on this page and then make up your own minds. What we more often hear is "Great", "Awesome", "Joyous" and "Unique". So, come one, come all. But I've never heard Railroads On Parade called "Cute" before! As I said, it takes all kinds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I am not even a model railroad guy, but this place is unexpected and amazing. It was well worth the visit.

Thank bhimoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Everyone from young children to my husband's 92-year old aunt who was visiting us loves this place. It's incredible. You will not regret making this a must-see. It's well-worth a short detour to Pottersville if you are in the Lake-George area. Don't miss it! Highly recommend!

Thank Anonymous537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RailroadsOnParade, Owner at Railroads on Parade, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

What a great way to start the 2013 Railroads On Parade Season! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! It gives us such pleasure to hear things like this. Everybody here tries so hard to please, so it's especially pleasing to hear from you about how much you enjoyed your visit. That "short detour" starts at Exit 22 on the Adirondack Northway (I-87) and ends a hop, skip and a jump off of Exit 26. Just follow the signs to the center of town. Again, thanks so much for caring.
Best Regards,
Clarke Dunham,
Owner/Creator of Railroads On Parade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railroads on Parade also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing