We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not average, not poor.”
Review of Maxfields

Maxfields
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not average, not poor.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Have eaten here a couple of times in the last year or so and have found the food & service to be average at best. We had a salmon dish which was somewhat overcooked and an over-seasoned steak. The atmosphere is nice but the prices of the food & wine served seem quite high for the area, which is comprised mostly of college students. One particular thing we've been disappointed in is the quality, or lack thereof, of the wines served by the glass. We ordered 2 glasses of the only choice of pinot grigio, Gabbiano, for which we were charged $7.00 a glass. Our local wine store sells Gabbiano for $6.99 a bottle! I understand the restaurant markup on food & wine but at least offer a better quality pour if you're going to charge urban area prices. Also suggested is the repair or replacement of some of the bar stools - they're really, really shaky and are a lawsuit waiting to happen!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    65
    25
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Nice old world bar, good food, it's bit pricey”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a couple meals here. The ood has always been pretty good. Nothing fantastic. The bar is an old style bar, from the 1800's. Good atmosphere. Mix of clientele, some on business, some families, and some college kids. The bartender was very good, and attentive. Will definitely be back ext time in town. A little pricey for way upstate NY. NY Strip was about $28.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fool for the Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and i went here. We sat down the table was very wobbly, we received fancy wine looking glasses of water that were 95% ice. when I ordered i asked for unsweetened ice tea which never made it to the table. There was only one waitress for lunch serving 5 tables. service was deathly slow. Water glasses were filled a few times but not enough to say so. the menu was bleak only soup,burgers, and sandwiches. i ordered a burger cooked at med well.. when i received it there was still a lot of blood coming out of it and very pink. It came with shoe string french fries which were not impressive at all to say the least. they had sea salt on them and a very heavy dose of salt. they were so salty ketchup couldn't even cover the taste. The portions of food are moderate for the price. Although the fries only take up 10% of the plate, 25% burger and the rest is all open space.. even the lettuces looked sad. the front door to the place would not stay shut and it was freezing. The lighting was moderate. For the price to pay for dinning at this palace it really isn't worth it. for a good burger id rather go to Ebbens next to Clarkson. I wont eat here again, Its not worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 450michellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a great meal”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had dinner here on Monday night we arrived in Potsdam for her interview the next day at Clarkson. The restaurant was moderately full and it didn't seem like they has enough staff. I felt sorry for our waitress who was very nice and seemed to want to do a good job was running here and there.

Our house salad was drenched in dressing but we had waited so long for it we didn't send it back. My salmon was good but my daughter's strip steak was covered in pepper which we either missed on the description or wasn't there. Overall, it was not a good value for the money. Maybe it was just an off night or they didn't expect so many people on a Monday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton,MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place but service was tough”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went there with my two sons after touring both local colleges. It was our last place to dine. The atmosphere was lovely, but the service was a bit tough. Food was good, but at lunchtime, I think they only had one person on staff. Thankfully we were not in a rush. Got to be a bit annoying that we had to track her down for everything. Other than that, if staffed appropriately, it was a nice place for lunch. Bar seems like it would be a fun spot also for evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinMurph5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxfields also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Hannawa Falls, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Maxfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing