We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Clarkson Inn Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarkson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarkson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Clarkson Inn Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

A very pleasant surprise. My wife and I were on a combination business/ pleasure trip. The staff and accomadations were exceptional. Althought they aare not quite ready for the French Bistro dinner the breakfast is one of the most enjoyable we have experienced. Could not think of a better person to ask for dinner recommendations which were forth coming and highly encouraged. Excellent, Excellent, Excellent !! John anf Kathy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    47
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
30
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

After a long cold Canadian winter, my husband and I were fortunate enough to be invited to Potsdam as guests of the Crane School of Music this past weekend. It was still chilly and grey when we left Montreal, but when we arrived in the quaint university town the sun was shining and the air was less frigid. Walking into the Clarkson Inn where we were greeted by our cheerful host at the reception desk and warmed by the pastel furnishings, we found spring was already in full bloom. Our friends at the university had requested that we be given a room overlooking the Raquette River and the Inn delivered. Each morning we stood in front of the bay windows admiring the view as the sun sparkled on the water and each night were beguiled by the moon's reflection dancing on it. All of the amenities you would expect in a well-appointed hotel room from hair dryer, ironing facilities, and full-length bathrobes, to robust shower and comfortable beds were provided. And last but not least I must mention breakfast and the lovely chef who offered scrambled eggs or omelets with a host of other delicacies to get us through our morning. I would like to end by thanking the dedicated staff at the Clarkson Inn for looking after us and for making our visit so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently stayed a week at the Clarkson Inn and found the sincerity of the staff and the customer service surpassing all expectations. Rooms are large and comfortable (ours had a beautiful view of the river and the Sandstone Church) and the truffles each night (2 on our night table for my husband and me and one for our daughter who was staying with us) delectable. Given our longer stay, we appreciated the microwave and refrigerator--put to use after an outing to the Food Co-op around the corner. The lobby is charming with comfortable seating areas for conversation, meeting friends, having a cup of tea or coffee with a cookie (served throughout the day) or just as a change of scenery. We had breakfast each morning (nominal charge) in the dining area. Just delightful. An expected high point was that coffee is served, using bone china, and elegant plates put to use for a cheese omelet made to order. The buffet is set each morning: (great value given the fresh local ingredients, delicious salmon, fresh fruit, granola, etc. ). Service comes with a smile whether it be the front desk, the housekeeping staff, the waitstaff, chef or management. They aim to please and it shows! When my husband had an appointment and needed a tie, none of the stores on Main Street had ties in stock. No worries. George, the manager, was quick to offer a tie or two that my husband could use for the day. All in all, we loved the Clarkson Inn and will recommend it to visitors, friends and family visiting the North Country and the college towns of Canton and Potsdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view and the larger room with sitting area overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler8661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Traveling to Potsdam for the first time with our daughter to see Clarkson University, we hadn't made overnight reservations anywhere but asked at the university for a hotel recommendation and they pointed us to the nearby Clarkson Inn. We decided make a reservation because of the close proximity to Clarkson (and very close to SUNY Potsdam). The Inn is at nice looking Victorian style building located on a scenic riverbank with a small park nearby. I'll have to say that we were very pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and overall hospitality of everyone at the Inn. After a long and tiring drive to Potsdam, we were greeted by a very friendly staff at the front desk. They seemed to know the perfect remedy for weary travelers and offered us complimentary cookies and drinks from the lobby - a nice touch. Our room was extremely clean and very comfortable with nice amenities (fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more). After a very comfortable night we decided to have breakfast at the attractive dining area near the lobby. We were greeted by George, a very friendly and professional man who apparently is the maitre'd/chef/waiter. George was happy help make coffee and tea and he made a fresh and delicious cheese omelette - cooked at our table side. In addition there was a nice variety of fresh fruit and pastries. Breakfast was a treat.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I will definitely make reservations at Clarkson Inn the next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: This is a college town so don't be surprised to hear some noise from the nearby fraternity house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our recent stay was excellent with the extra benefit of service above and beyond, Inadvertantly i left a very special hat inthe room when cheking out and did not miss it until I was well onthe road. I called the hotel fromt desk and they advised they already had the hat and would be happy to box it up and mail it to my home address. They did so and it meant a great deal to me that they woud go above and beyond.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the Clarkson Inn in Potsdam for one night while my son did an overnight visit to Clarkson University. I picked the Inn base on the great reviews on Trip Advisor, its proximity to town and the University. The Inn has a wonderful Riverside view and It was great to see that all of the positive trip advisor comments about the Inn are spot on.  It was very clean and comfortable.  The service and the staff are great and I would definitely stay here again. There are also plenty of nice Resturaunts across the street in town to choose from.  I picked Maxfields where I enjoyed a tasty meal and a reasonable selection of craft brews.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The room was very nice and it was a very comfortable place to stay. One thing to point out is that there is not an elevator to the second floor so be prepared to lug suitcases up a flight of stairs. Otherwise, would stay here if I'm ever in Potsdam again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.9 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
University Suites Hotel
17.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northern Family Motel
Northern Family Motel
#5 of 5 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkson Inn

Property: Clarkson Inn
Address: 1 Main St, Potsdam, NY 13676-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarkson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarkson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing