We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarkson Inn
Nearby Hotels
$159
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Potsdam Inn(Potsdam)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$62
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northern Family Motel(Potsdam)(Great Value!)
$99
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Massena)
$65
EconoLodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Massena)
$122
$75
QualityInn
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
177
48
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
48
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riversuny potsdamwithin walking distancethe general managerhigh teacharming hotelrooms are largeno elevatorin townmovie theaterbreakfast buffet isbeautiful parkpersonal letterplace to stayice bucketcoffee and teacookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 231 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recommended to stay here while on business in the Potsdam area. Great location in the heart of the town, quaint decor and very comfortable room/suite. Staff are helpful and welcoming - everything about this property is how a hotel should be run. I'm happy to stay at an independently run business that makes a welcome change from the national chains. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nielkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my second visit at the Clarkson Inn. It is so wonderful. Home away from home. From the second you enter the lobby to the time you check out, you will encounter happy, helpful, kind people.
Our room was so nicely put together, comfortable and super clean. The breakfast was delicious and we were totally catered to the whole time we sat.
When we wanted delivery after a very long drive, we were given 4 choices of local places that were tasty and delivered.
I can't say enough about the Clarkson Inn. I won't stay anywhere else while in the area and will share my thoughts to others heading that way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Clarkson Inn seems to be the only proper hotel in central Potsdam. You would also want to stay there if it 'd be half as good. A 15' walk to the State University, clean, spacious and quiet. The breakfast is well worth every of the 12 USD it costs. Only thing it lacks is good coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable large rooms with an exceedingly helpful staff. We always stay here when in the area, and have never been disappointed. Love the NON-smoking rule---rooms smell fresh and are well maintained. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ploofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at several places in Potsdam. We have tried each time to get into the Clarkson Inn but it is not easy to get a reservation because they are so booked up. The rooms are very large and nice. Very clean. Beds are very comfortable. Linens and towels are top notch. Rooms are very quiet from each other. Location is excellent.

This is a college town so on a warm weekend night, you will likely hear some hooting and hollering. But all in all, while a bit pricey, you get what you pay for. It is the best place to stay in Potsdam.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latebrake54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews