We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scottish Inns Potsdam
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for the price . . .”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of different places and I take a lot of road trips. This was not bad for the price. They also took my AARP discount. I have to be back in the area in a few weeks and will be staying there again.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MzVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    18
    4
    19
See reviews for
38
14
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Drum, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband is in the Military and has been for 23 years, we have travel all over the country and world. I can honestly say I have never stayed in a hotel worse than the Scottish Inns. To get started upon arrival they didn't have the room promised when I booked the reservation. We still took the room offered, however we quickly regretted it. Upon entering the room it was 89 degrees, with just a small air conditioner in the back of the room. When you sit on the bed you sink in, due to the fact that the mattresses are just foam! We had a room with two full size beds. the bed to the back of the room is 23 inches from the wall, and at the end of the bed they have hung a clothes rack on the wall at head hight. With which I damn near knocked myself out cold with, while getting out of bed to use the rest room! The bathroom is very tiny with a small shower stall, that the door doesn't close tight on and leaks water. The bottom of the shower is BLACK with filth. The toilet is so close to the wall you must turn a bit not to hit the toilet paper holder. The room does have a small fridge and microwave which is located on a stand wedged in beside the first bed. The rubber seal of the Fridge is COVERED in mold, which is why we slept in the second bed, so not to have to beath mold fumes all night! If it had been possible we would have checked out upon arrival and gone somewhere else, but due to there being an orientaion at the college and no other vacancies at other local hotels we had to stay. But I promise, it will be our last stay with them in that filthy, broken down place!

Room Tip: Go to another HOTEL, Please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Potsdam hotels

Port Jervis, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

good place, clean, & relatively inexpensive. Not in town, so you need to drive, but it's worth it. Free internet, tv, & local phone...also fridge & microwave in rooms! Have stayed previous to june visit & will stay again. :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawneestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, FL and Milford, PA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The owner is very nice and the place is clean . For $70 for a double you can't go wrong if you need a place to sleep. Internet is included, shower is good, towels a bit thin but you get what you pay for. You should bring your own shampoo/conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a very nice lil' Inn and the prices are more than resonable. The beds are comfortable, showers warm, and the owners very friendly. Great area for fishing and many outdoor activities including but not limited to: camping, hiking, rafting and hunting as well. Potsdam also has a great bar scene, skiing in the winter, and many great lil shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Ontario Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very basic accommodation met our needs for a one night stay in Potsdam while we attended a Clarkson Knights hockey game. Owners were very friendly and seemed to be hard working.The rooms are small and could benefit from upgrading but were freshly cleaned. Microwave and bar fridge were handy. No tubs in bathrooms. Towels were older in short supply but we made do. You get what you pay for...accommodation for 3 people with continental breakfast for $82.49. Friends stayed down the road...rooms were sl more modern but smaller and they paid more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nites here late August so we could attend a family function in Potsdam. We didn't have high expectations given the price. It was College move in weekend so not a lot of choices however...will never go back here. I think the family that runs it is trying but they have a long way to go. The first sign was the extension cords in both rooms that were connected to the ac units... great way to trip someone. The curtains had holes in them, room was dingy as well as the spreads (my daughter wouldn't sleep on the sheets) and the bathroom was in need of a major redo (broken tiles, dirty grout). We wore flip flops in the bathroom. My cousins room smelled (owner said it may have been from an overflowed toilet earlier) and they did move him to another. The driveway was all dug up (maybe they are in process of repaving). Lobby had been redone so was decent & they had coffee & some wrapped donuts. If you have a chance to book elsewhere, you should!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSuz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
0.3 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
University Suites Hotel
8.0 mi away
Best Western University Inn
18.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inns Potsdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inns Potsdam

Property: Scottish Inns Potsdam
Address: 7575 Rt 11, Potsdam, NY 13676
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scottish Inns Potsdam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Scottish Inns Potsdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottish Inns Potsdam Hotel Potsdam
Nomad Hotel Potsdam
Nomad Motel Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing