We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pink & Black Tile Bathrooms From 50's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scottish Inns Potsdam
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I kind of like the nostalgic hotels as long as they are kept well and this one isn't too bad. This is a typical outside entry hotel with small rooms from pre-interstate times. Besides the tile colors, the bathroom had a bottle cap opener mounted which you seniors will remember from times past. The owners keep renovating the place and much refurbishment has been done. There was a small window AC unit in the back of the room with curtains carefully pinned around it for privacy. The full size bed was comfortable and there was a small desk, refrigerator, and microwave efficiently placed. The room was clean and recent carpet, light fixtures, and painting had been installed.

The room was lacking for a clothes rod to hang clothes although filled holes in the wall indicated that one was once provided. There was no hair dryer or iron but this is a no-frills economy-type place and I didn't expect these items. The shower had been replaced by a one-piece plastic unit but it was installed poorly and there was some mildew starting under the floor at the shower door bottom which I mentioned to the manager/owner. Also, there was one outlet that did not work.

My main complaint was the lack of a dead bolt on the door. There was one but it did not function and when I mentioned it to the manager he said they were soon to be replaced on all the doors. Some of the doors also have gaps on the bottom and could be sealed better.

But overall I had a comfortable, restful stay and it was a less expensive hotel which is what I was looking for. I would stay there overnight again.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeenEnough2Know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2011

We paid cash. We had three small dogs which we left in the room after they were thoroughly exercised. There was no barking. They demanded $10 extra per room for the dogs. Was tempted to ask for the cash to be refunded and put it on the credit card, where they would lose money.

The blankets were not clean and there were not enough of them.
There was also a large space between the bottom of the front door and the floor, so bugs and vermin could get in quite readily.

At 7:30 am there was no coffee, and when we returned around 8:30 there still was no coffee and one of the visitors said he had asked twice for coffee. Continental break as stale buns in cellophane.

Also the beds were very hard, and they did not have fitted sheets over the plastic sheeting which made sleeping very uncomfortable.

So so for this place, will look elsewhere for next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppydaisy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

A nice classic motel with modern day ammenities like free WiFi, wide screen LCD televisions, microwaves, and mini-fridges. It's still a little rough around the edges in some places but, if you're like me, this is character and the reason I choose to stay in motels.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baron_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I have read earlier reviews of the nomad/scottish inn motel and agree with the latest review. The rooms were clean, neat and very liveable. The new owner and family have done a wonderful job in brining back this property (formerly the NOMAD INN) to a respectable Inn and a great place to lay your head down whether it be for a night , weekend or longer. The old war stories are exactly that old stories, try this newly renovated Inn, you will not regret it. This could turn into a hidden gem when all the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DealsVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I have read earlier reviews of the nomad/scottish inn motel. The latest review, has always been my opinion. I never had a bad experience there. The new owner has a very supportive family.! When you have any question , it is promptly addressed. If you need anything,the response is rapid. I and my girlfriend give it five stars. The past is the past,retry,or give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frenchman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Due to our weekly visits & budget, my wife & I have been staying @ the Nomad for the past year & 1/2, since our son plays a sport for Clarkson University and we do not miss a game. That being said, we are pleased to announce that The Nomad is under New Management. The individual that now owes the Nomad, is a Hotel.Motel professional, with the financial backing to make the necessary & than some upgrades to the facility, We have experienced the changes personally, new towels, new bed, new sheets, and other plans that we have discussed with the owner that he is mapping out in the near future. This individual has a master plan for the Nomad & it is worth your consideration for your next visit to the North Country! Previous comments do not apply to the new management. We know, we have have spent many anight under old management.

Please give these mew owners a chance, you''ll really enjoy the new experience no & as future upgrades are implemented.

Frieda & Bruce Huff

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HufferCigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

to know about this motel you have to try i read bed review and i still stayed this motel i did not found any thing bed room is average helpful staff only thing i can tell do not go by reviews

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aumayushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Best Western University Inn
18 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
61 reviews
7.5 mi away
University Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inns Potsdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inns Potsdam

Address: 7575 Rt 11, Potsdam, NY 13676
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scottish Inns Potsdam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Scottish Inns Potsdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottish Inns Potsdam Hotel Potsdam
Nomad Hotel Potsdam
Nomad Motel Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing