We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers are good.....but”
Review of Between The Buns

Between The Buns
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Potsdam
Cuisines: American, Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The burger that we had was very good tasting, while we were eating it. Had I known that I would be enjoying it for almost 24 hours I would have skipped it. I think it was more what the onions that were on top of my burger were cooked in that upset my stomach so much. But the beef was cooked good. Now the service, that was a different story. She was very nice however once we had received our order she never checked on us and we really needed more sauce and napkins. We were trying to get "someone's" attention since our waitress was "MIA" somewhere and couldn't be found. Once we were all finished, low and behold she pops up to hand us our check. We will try it out again to see if it's any better on a weekday night. It was busy the Saturday night we went there (but very early around 5:15pm). I will NOT get anything with onions again though just to see if that was the problem. It will be awhile though -- I have to give my body a rest from that greasy food. Think twice before going. The atmosphere is VERY loud so if you are wanting to have a conversation---that's not the place to go. Oh yeah, one more thing---it's pretty pricey for a burger place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bunny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you like burgers, and let's face it, who doesn't like burgers? Then this is the place for you. A great selection of really interesting and eclectic burgers like the 'black and blue' with Angus beef and blue cheese. These are big burgers, served red, pink or brown. And the cooks hit the mark consistently on those levels of 'doneness.' Served with pretty standard fries and a decent enough selection of beers, often with specials on the beer prices. Make sure you're hungry when you stop in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

An upscale burger joint in a small college town can be a really fun experience. But if the service is poor then that experience can turn into a painfully boring lunch or dinner. And that's what happened when we visited this place on 12/31/2013. The food was pretty good - especially the "Thousand Island Burger" which was a concoction involving a large, properly cooked burger topped with pastrami, Swiss cheese, sauerkraut and a tangy dressing - but the service was terrible. A forty five minute wait for a burger is just too darned long. Prices were slightly higher than other regional burger/sports bar places which only added to our displeasure. We might try this place again but only after we get further reports to determine if their wait staff has improved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTB_General_Manager, General Manager at Between The Buns, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

James,

Thank you for visiting us, however we are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience for your trip to BTB. We took what you had to say to heart because we value our guests reviews as it provides us with the opportunity to grow and improve. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food though, we take pride in our quality of food and only use top ingredients. We want to invite you back to dine with us next time you are in the area so that we can show you that the evening you were here is not the quality of service we consistently provide to our valued guests. Again, we apologize we did not meet your expectations and will make every necessary change to ensure a timely service.

Regards,

BTB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stopped in on the way back to Syracuse for a quick meal. The music is blaring, the servers dissapear, you can see them eating from a tray in the kitchen as they come and go. The food was well below average and overpriced. This place really lives up to its name because it was real Sh*&t.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

If you are traveling to or near potsdam New York you have to have a meal at this place. When you first walk in you would not expect much it is a simple clean bar atmosphere.
The food was excellent a small menu but huge on flavors the portions are you meant we will go here each time we are in the area
Our server was excellent he provided suggestions and truthful insight about the food and beverages

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Damarsh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Between The Buns also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Between The Buns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing