We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Tamale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hot Tamale

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hot Tamale
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Potsdam
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Northern, NY
Level Contributor
278 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Love the Tamale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My fam begs to go to Hot Tamale! The portions are enormous and flavors are fresh and amazing. Service is fast and the staff are always friendly. If you are a burrito, taco or quesadilla lover, this is the place for you!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank canela42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hot Tamale has really good Mexican food. The portions are huge and you can choose from a variety of ingredients for everything you order.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelcrazy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hot Tamale offers decently priced non-chain fast food in Downtown Potsdam. No, it's not authentic Mexican and they certainly aren't holding themselves out to be so. They are fast Tex-Mex in the style of Moe's Southwest Grill. They make your food fresh in front of you assembly line style and have a good variety of ingredients. Although it's not authentic Mexican, I can't say I've ever had anything that I would consider "bad". Their sauces are home made, fresh, and really quite tasty. Honestly, a cut above the other nearby "Mexican" restaurants at half the price.
The staff has always been friendly when we've gone and the place reasonably clean. They have a good location with ample parking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
370 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Still a good burrito in downtown Potsdam...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stopped in with family during Summer Fest and had a round of varied burritos, including a bare naked burrito bowl, and we were all happy happy! The varied meat and veggie options give you the choice to customize your enjoyment, and the many choices of hot - and hotter - sauces really kick them up a notch! Lots of flavor, lots of options, lots of smiles!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdkadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potsdam NY
Level Contributor
303 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“chicken burrito”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

I eat here often and have the veggie burritos which i LOVE- I try to ignore the LOUD OLD ROCK radio station that blares- especially with the frequent commercials- IT IS SO ANNOYING- Please turn it down or get a CD....AND everytime I go there no matter which day of the week for lunch all the tables are dirty-Now this is for lunch M-F-when so many older non-college kids eat there-at night when the college kids eat late night you can rock out but in the day the music is like a night club-ridiculous!
Today I had the chicken burrito-it was on special- UGH-the chicken was like sawdust- could not eat it-I will continue to take out a veggie burrito in the future but ask the management to fix the music and cleanliness issues.....

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwright438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Tamale also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Hot Tamale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing