We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People are nice, room is ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northern Family Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The motel appears to have been completely renovated, nice new carpet, new wall coverings, bathroom was acceptable. However, every time we walked into the room it smelled of old beer and cigarettes. The a/c worked, but you could see outdoors around the installation. The breakfast was really nice and the people were very pleasant. I'm not crazy about that many dogs in the food prep and eating area, but it was very much "family style" The price was right for one night, but I definitely wouldn't want to vacation here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowyelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Northern Family Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've been going up to Potsdam several times per year while my son is at Crane, and just discovered this gem (I don't usually take this road into town so had completely missed it until I read about it here on TA!). This motel is affordable, just outside of the main part of downtown (which is noisy on a weekend) and in a nice quiet setting. The rooms were updated and very clean, although on the small side. The owners provide a great sitting area/deck with a gas fire for chilly evenings or mornings, and a common room where they offer a very satisfying continental breakfast-fruit, boiled eggs, muffins, juices, coffee, tea, bagels, cereal, all included in the very reasonable price. They also have chairs and tables to sit outside in the shade and relax. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stargal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Northern Family Motel blew my expectations out of the water. We stayed in the back portion that has recently been renovated in the past year and it is beautiful. Eric(the owner) is very accommodating and made sure that all of us had a great experience. They made us more food than we could possibly eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and it was all very good. I would definitely recommend this motel over any other spot in Potsdam!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The owners were incredible and more than accommodating. The entire place was kept very clean. Our group booked future reservations before we even checked out. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T15Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is a diamond in the rough. The location is slightly outside of town so you don't hear any of the downtown nightlife but close enough that you are only 5 minutes from either SUNY or Clarkson. The owners are some of the nicest people you may ever encounter and they were more then accommodating to any special needs. If you are staying in Potsdam you would be a fool to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: They have a great big room in the back for large parties that is nicer then anywhere else you could...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_Goodwin48441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have visited Potsdam dozens of times and have stayed at every hotel and motel in the vicinity. The Northern Family Motel was the best value and best service by far. The Clarkson Inn is WAY over priced for what it is and the other motels within reasonable distance and really shabby. The Norther Family Motel has clean adequate rooms, good food and is a reasonable distance to the center of the village.

We were there for a group event and used the event hosting facilities which were VERY nice. IT was an amazing amount of room that caused us to book the facility again for next year as this provided us the best experience we've had in years. They provided food and shuttles to the village when necessary which allowed us to truly forget about the logistics and enjoy our trip. The staff were more than happy to help and made the whole experience great for us. We look forward to visiting there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have never stayed at this location before but we were traveling with our dog and visiting family in the area. What an awesome experience! Everything was very clean and we felt very comfortable. To check in you now go to the little white house to the right of the property where the "lobby" is so welcoming. We loved that the owners were pet friendly with their own fur kids roaming about. We did not get the opportunity to check out breakfast though. My wife liked how they had decorated the property for the upcoming Easter holiday. The rooms were clean and we found the microwave and fridge in our room to be a bonus. Very happy with our stay - we were in #14. The only thing we would change would be the shower head as the water flow was poor. Loved that there was a doggy poo station and a great back area to take him to walk and do his business! We'll be back to stay when we come up again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
359 reviews
3.0 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
59 reviews
10.2 mi away
University Suites Hotel
10.7 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Family Motel

Address: 6775 State Highway 56, Potsdam, NY
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range: $80 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Family Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Family Motel was built in 1958 with newer building in 1985. We are the third family owner with 15 years of ownership under our belt. We are a very clean and quaint motel with an added touch of family and friendly environment. Our market is dominated by being a college town and we are fully committed to providing a personal reach for those parents who have students dwelling in our area. We take care of who takes care of us. We are always connecting with parents to remind them of important dates that may need to book, we have cooked home cook meals for their son or daughter that are missing home, we have picked up medication for their under the weather child, we have helped them get a trust worthy mechanic, babysat while they attend a school function, dog walked, and we even get to know you well enough that your cocktail or preferred beverage may await your next arrival. We may be an older style establishment but with that said we have the great old school mentality of being overly welcoming after all "You will arrive as strangers and leave as friends" is our motto dear to heart. Don't let the "motel" cliche persuade you to look else where .... we are the place to make your stay relaxing. Try us out!! As always book direct to help save commissions paid to the 3rd parties. Your hosts and owners, Eric/Stephanie Matott ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Northern Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Family Hotel Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing