We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion Weekend at the Brambles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brambles Inn and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 Potsdam B&B and Inns
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
“Reunion Weekend at the Brambles”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently, I stayed with 5 of my close friends at the Brambles Inn in Potsdam, NY. Out stay was wonderful. Our rooms ( we had 3) were clean and inviting. We were treated to a full breakfast daily. The house was full of character and the grounds were beautiful. I would recommend the inn to anyone looking for a charming home environment full of rich history. The Inn is conveniently located to downtown shops and both college campuses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent evening of June 30th at this charming bed and breakfast. This home is lovely filled with charm and items that must have taken a lifetime to collect. We spent the evening in carriage room. Caught a glimpse of some of the other rooms and all were lovely. We had two seating times for breakfast-8 or 9 am we choose the later time slot. Dining room is lovely. We were served this absolutely delicious apple crumble cake, orange juice, fruit cup, scones and a plates of home fries, bacon and a mini egg dish served in a ramekin dish. Choice of coffee and tea. Would definitely recommend. Met a lovely couple from Albany New York and enjoyed our morning breakfast immensely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiCecco8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We only stayed at the Brambles for one night in June, 2013, but we very much enjoyed our stay. The house was attractive and interesting, with antique features. It was also very quiet and our room was clean and comfortable. The hostess was very nice, and knowledgeable about the area. This will definitely be our first choice if we visit the area again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delanson
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent a raining Friday night at the Brambles Inn in Potsdam. The weather was terrible but our room was toasty warm due to awesome old fashioned radiator heating. Our room with private bathroom was cozy and comfortable with interesting antique furniture. Walk (in the rain) to downtown Main Street only took about 5 minutes. We would highly recommend eating at Hot Tamale, too. The country breakfast was delicious; yogurt with homemade granola, fresh blueberry pancakes, peppery bacon and eggs with all the coffee and juice we wanted. Our host was very gracious and answered all our questions about the beautiful house. The restorations were very well done. Our stay was excellent and we would highly recommend the Brambles Inn!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the house; Thomas Clark room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This Victorian house has many features to delight the eye: public rooms with beautifully colored walls, framed prints galore of birds and wildlife, authentic Victorian furniture with its color, carved woods, and jarndenieres & plants. It is very convenient to schools in Potsdam and to the small downtown. The welcome was friendly, the breakfasts subtantial -- great coffee, so important! Breakfast is served at a long table in the dining room -- very convivial.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonrose98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After dropping my daughter at camp (and many trips up & down the stairs), Brambles was a great place to rest and relax. Very conveniently located to SUNY Potsdam and Clarkson. Quiet and comfortable with a great breakfast before I headed off the next morning

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent one night at the Brambles Inn and Gardens. My husband is a Clarkson alumni and we went to visit his undergrad campus for the first time in many years. Staying at The Brambles Inn was so comfy sort of like staying at Grandma's. The house is decorated in a Victorian style. A great deal of care went into the upgrading of the house. Breakfast was just fabulous, and much more than we expected. Eleanor is a gracious hostess. I highly recommend The Brambles Inn and Gardens

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
225 reviews
2.3 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
University Suites Hotel
9.8 mi away
Best Western University Inn
2.2 mi away
Northern Family Motel
Northern Family Motel
#5 of 5 in Potsdam
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brambles Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brambles Inn and Gardens

Property: Brambles Inn and Gardens
Address: 48 Elm St, Potsdam, NY 13676-1813
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brambles Inn and Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the past in our circa 1842 Greek Revival home... lovingly restored and filled with antiques and beautiful furnishings. All guest rooms feature a private bath.From the old-fashioned country breakfast to the top-notch service, you'll be glad you made The Brambles your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Brambles Inn and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing