We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate setting for those romantic dinners”
Review of 1844 House

1844 House
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Intimate setting for those romantic dinners”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The menu is different than most restaurants and the presentation is done beautifully. A small intimate feeling in this restored house is great for those special occasions.

Helpful?
Thank travelcrazy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    34
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Can't be beat!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Food is perfect; locally grown produce and meats used whenever possible.

Helpful?
Thank PotsdamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard by Marriott, JFK NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, good menu of "classics"”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

A nice night out, service was good, food was good. Good value, although pricey for the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Courtyard_JFK_Mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our choice for special occasions”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We always choose the 1844 House for special celebrations. The ambiance is comfortable and the service welcoming. Of course the food is the main attraction, an interesting menu of locally grown meats and vegetables, prepared with imagination and attention to detail.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-CynthiaColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW FAIRFIELD
Level Contributor
112 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Northcountry Bistro”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Potsdam and had the pleasure of eating at the 1844 House. We had a commitment that evening so we made a reservation for 4:30 (good thing we did.... we saw a number of folks who had no reservation turned away at the door) with the intentions of ordering from the early dining menu (a fixed price, multiple course meal with several attractive selections. The food was excellent, and they had nice wines available by the glass. Only caveat I would make is to ask about the portion size before you commit to the early dining menu; not meant to be a put down by any means, but the serving sizes are consistent with the price tag and if you are a big eater you may be hungry later. We will visit again next time we are in town, and look forward to exploring the regular menu more fully.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garymwhipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1844 House also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Hannawa Falls, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to 1844 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing