We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad We Went”

Sprague's Maple Farm
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Portville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Glad We Went”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

"Sprague's" was recommended to us while on business in Olean, NY. We had intended on going elsewhere in the city but upon arrival at that place, the line was well out the door. We decided to give "Sprague's" a try and are glad we did. The service was prompt and the menu is quite extensive considering. The lobster bisque was excellent and my wife liked her turkey barley soup very much as well. I had their fresh turkey dinner, which was very good. My wife had pancakes and ham, also very good. We can't wait to go back during maple syrup season (and in daylight) so we can truly appreciate the place!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    58
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food, cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our visit on New Year's Eve was lots of fun! The dining room is very interesting and cozy, and we really enjoyed our food. The lobster bisque came highly recommended by my father-in-law -- and I could see why. Delicious! The parking lot looked really full from the outside, but we were seated immediately and got great service. Plenty of tables and servers working, and everyone was very friendly. Got our food quickly and really enjoyed our visit. Since it was Christmastime, reindeer out front were a nice touch -- and would be fun for kids. And we bought some maple candy to bring home, of course!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylandCupcakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Huge restaurant. Very popular and I learned why. The food is really good. The bacon is the best I've ever had. Loved it. First time there, the service was okay, second time there, it was excellent. Seemed like the younger staff just did not understand how important service is. The more experienced staff has it perfect!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Destination breakfast place”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

A local institution with a vast dining room traditional American breakfast place decor amped up with pleasantly kitschy taxidermy. It's a nearly essential experience for breakfast in the area. I look forward to going every visit to Olean, about twice a year. Truth is, the food is not outstanding, but it is good, and is certainly up to the out-for-big-breakfast task.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aerocraft67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A favorite”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Home-made maple syrup in home-made everything food from between $6 and $14 with huge portions. It's absolutely delicious food, and you're almost guaranteed to take some home--especially if you get the Big Run, my personal favorite. If it's a weekend night, however, then expect to wait 45 min. to be seated. BUT, it's worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprague's Maple Farm also viewed

 

Been to Sprague's Maple Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing