We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for THEIR mistakes”
Review of Colonial Inn

Colonial Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portageville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Portageville B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here while attending a family wedding in Letchworth State Park. The rooms were clean but the owners are horrible! We arrived first and told the wife (it's owned by a couple) that we wanted to pay for our room, my brother in laws room and our uncles room. Our uncle was coming in that evening so we told her their last name and told her to just give them the key and say it was all taken care of. Well, our uncle gets there while the wedding party is out to dinner and she told him and my aunt that the boys with the wedding party had already checked in (mind you, we knew we were the only people with more than 1 room booked together) and then proceeded to charge them.
We found out about this after dinner so we went to the office first thing in the morning and the woman becomes EXTREMELY rude and says she left us a voicemail the night before saying our uncle never arrived and refuses to take the charge off of our credit card. If you've ever been to this area you know you have no reception at all with the exception of a few select spots if you're lucky so we never had a missed call or voicemail. The woman starts yelling at us that it's our fault during the conversation and they had to turn away HUNDREDS (yes, she really said hundreds) of people for that room and we needed to pay for it for both nights since they couldnt book it at such a late time. Her husband ends up coming outside and says we need to pay for both nights because it's not their fault. So we try to do something nice for our uncle, she acknowledges who he is when we get there and still charges him and yet we end up paying for 2 nights in a room NOBODY used. To make things even worse, when we first reserved our rooms 6 months in advance they didn't reserve one of them and I'm glad we called back to confirm a few weeks before the wedding because they do NOT send e-mail confirmations despite the fact that they do have wireless service there and will give you the password to it!

The rooms were decent but after the horrible service they provided and lack of responsibility for their own mistakes I would never recommend anyone stay here. Oh, and the "Hundreds" of people that wanted that one room could have booked any of the other 6-8 rooms that were unoccupied at the time because it was literally our little group and 2 other couples there the whole time. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. I hope they really are changing owners!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun M, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Well we remember this family well. They booked a total of 4 rooms. The one family reserved a room for their aunt and unbenounced to them the aunt had booked her own room seperately. Unfortunately they blame us for the mis communication between the family even after we explained this to them, before they started raising their voice and telling us they were going to dispute it with the CC company. Despite what they stated we were full that weekend and turned away several potential customers. This is a slanderous review and very untruthful. We saw that this couple wanted to pay for the relatives and so we only charged them an additional $50 for the room and only for the one night because they had it reserved and I had stayed up till1 AM waiting.They had stated we charged them full price for the room for the weekend and this is just not the truth. We believe we were more than fair to this couple and for them to write such things is very dishonest. I believe that the other reviews speak more to how we have treated our guest and what a person should expect from us and or Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our second year hear as a stop over to Niagara and Lake George. It's a nice little motel, rooms are clean and the owners are very friendly. Unfortunately they are selling it, so I hope the new owners are just as friendly when we decide to come back. It's only 10 minutes away from one of the best camping parks in NY - Letchworth State Park. My friends go camping there in May for the past 3 years. This time I'm bringing my family to experience it again for the second year.

The value is great at $99 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-Hoang42169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary while visiting Letchworth. We have stayed in 5 star chain hotels in the past, and this establishment surpassed them all. The room was really spacious, it felt like we were in small apartment. It was extremely clean, well-maintained, comfortable and tastefully decorated. And the bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept on in an Inn/Hotel, contributing to a good nights rest. The Inn is located in quiet, peaceful surroundings. The owners a very friendly and accommodating. My compliments to them for running such a fine business. We will be staying here again on our next visit to Letchwoth. By the way, we have stayed at the Inn inside the park, but prefer this place over it.
Ron and Muriel

Room Tip: Stayed in room 16, in the back, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muriel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

While visiting the Finger Lake region, stopped by Letchworth
State Park and personnel suggested this near-by establishment.
Excellent stop, we should have used Colonial Inn for our 4-day
and will probably come back. Quiet, peaceful & neat room
Mary & John

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARYJO41164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

What a great place and amazing owners.. We can't thank them enough for all they did for us. Not only did they come to our rescue, so to speak, their place is so peaceful, clean, way more spacious than we expected and just totally wonderful..

Can't wait to stay and visit again soon.!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

If you want to get away and just enjoy quiet time, this is a perfect Inn! The rooms were spacious, new carpets and tile, coffee maker and a mini fridge, for 99.00 buks a night was so worth it! I love their garden this time of the year, and the owners were kind enough to offer veggies, which was just perfect, considering there were no dining options. We visited Letchworth Park, which was amazing! Coming back to our clean and fresh room, for a nice hot shower and some coffee was just what I needed!
The owners were very kind and were always able to provide all the info I needed about the area. I would defenately be coming back again, and would recomend this place to all my friends!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Nicely situated 15 minutes from Perry, NY and 5 minutes from Castile. Rooms are spacious, nicely appointed, brand new carpeting and tile. There was a mini fridge, AC, coffee maker and color TV with remote in our room. Shower was adequate with plenty of hot water and towels. No breakfast and not a lot of dining options so we opted to shop ahead of time and store our food in the fridge.

However, for $90 per night, the room did not fulfill our expectations. Despite the renovations, our room had an extremely pungent smell of mold/water damage. We tried leaving the door open and running the AC to no avail. The bedding did not appear to be fresh and was actually damp from the moisture in the room. My travel companion found it extremely uncomfortable to sleep with the odor.

The proprietors were very nice and helpful and the property is conveniently situated near the park and directly across from a great little fruit stand. However, I would probably not stay here again due to the mold issue.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank misscrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun M, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Unfortunately this customer did not tell us that this was an issue and we did not know that someone had spilled something in the room previously. I can assure you all our beds and sheets are very fresh and clean. This was a very hot and sticky time of year and we wish this customer would have reported this to us so we could have relocated them to another room and addressed the issue earlier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portageville
14.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneseo
Hampton Inn Geneseo
#1 of 2 in Geneseo
514 reviews
13.9 mi away
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mount Morris
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Inn at Houghton Creek
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 6544 State Route 19a, Portageville, NY 14536-9701
Location: United States > New York > Portageville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Portageville
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing