We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to Turkey as you can get...food that is!”

Bosphorus Cafe Grill
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/23
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #14 of 104 Restaurants in Port Washington
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Description: Bosphorus Café Grill is a Mediterranean restaurant specializing in authentic Turkish cuisine. Opened by partners Ali Torun and Executive Chef Abdurrahman "Apo" Cecen in July 2014, the intimate eatery is located in the heart of Port Washington, New York. The restaurant focuses on offering the freshest ingredients in their signature dishes, inviting guests to enjoy the taste and flavors of traditional Turkish fare. Chef Cecen has more than 30 years of experience working in restaurants and as a butcher. He prides himself on the authenticity of his dishes, resonant of his home in Istanbul, Turkey. The array of signature appetizers and entrees allow guests to enjoy a well-rounded Turkish dining experience. Newsday named the Kunefe with shredded wheat, a layer of melted cheese, topped with chopped pistachios and aromatic syrup as one of the "10 Best Desserts on Long Island" in 2014. The restaurant was named as one of the "100 Best Restaurants on Long Island" by Newsday again in 2015. With a casual and cozy ambiance, Bosphorus Café Grill has an inviting atmosphere enjoyed by Turkish cuisine aficionados and novices alike. The personable and professional staff, delicious, authentic food, and setting create a memorable dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Bosphorus Café Grill is a Mediterranean restaurant specializing in authentic Turkish cuisine. Opened by partners Ali Torun and Executive Chef Abdurrahman "Apo" Cecen in July 2014, the intimate eatery is located in the heart of Port Washington, New York. The restaurant focuses on offering the freshest ingredients in their signature dishes, inviting guests to enjoy the taste and flavors of traditional Turkish fare. Chef Cecen has more than 30 years of experience working in restaurants and as a butcher. He prides himself on the authenticity of his dishes, resonant of his home in Istanbul, Turkey. The array of signature appetizers and entrees allow guests to enjoy a well-rounded Turkish dining experience. Newsday named the Kunefe with shredded wheat, a layer of melted cheese, topped with chopped pistachios and aromatic syrup as one of the "10 Best Desserts on Long Island" in 2014. The restaurant was named as one of the "100 Best Restaurants on Long Island" by Newsday again in 2015. With a casual and cozy ambiance, Bosphorus Café Grill has an inviting atmosphere enjoyed by Turkish cuisine aficionados and novices alike. The personable and professional staff, delicious, authentic food, and setting create a memorable dining experience.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Turkish food in Port Washington/Sands Point? Yes believe it! This restaurant serves as excellent authentic Turkish food. The hot Lavas Hollow Bread is a must on any visit. Their entrees are all excellent and I think I've had all of them. Save room for dessert to satisfy that sweet tooth.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2017

My husband, daughter, and I stopped in one afternoon after touring a mansion in the area. We decided to eat here based on the reviews we read online. We were greated promptly. Our waiter offered recommendations. We started with the humus and the Lavas Bread. The bread was light and the humus complimented it well. My daughter and I ordered the chicken shish kabobs and my husband ordered the spicier version. The dishes were served with rice, red cabbage, and onions and carrots. The chicken was tender and the vegetables were crisp and were seasoned very well. For dessert, we tried both the baklava and the chocolate baklava. The layers of dough were flaky and it had just the right amount of sweetness. The food and service were top notch.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 10isgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

Get the Lavas bread! Quite the presentation. The food here is amazing, truly. All very fresh and cooked to perfection. Favorite plates are the mixed appetizer plate (choose any combo as they are all good) and the mixed grill. These two will easily feed a family of 4.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank lifeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017

If you live in Port Washington you should definitely make your way to the Bosphorous Cafe Grill for an amazing meal!! If you do not live in town, it is definitely worth the trip to eat here. You will be in for a treat.
My husband and I have eaten here both for lunch and dinner and have never been disappointed. The food is extremely fresh, well prepared and delicious. The presentation is also beautiful. I highly recommend their lavas bread with an assortment of appetizers. This is a wonderful introduction to this restaurant's food and will leave you craving more just to taste the delicious flavors of this cuisine. The different fish and shrimp dishes are terrific as are the salads.
The waiters are very attentive and the service is consistently excellent. If you have room for dessert, their triangle baklava is perfect.
Eating a meal here is worth repeating often.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank portgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Average meal in a local Turkish restaurant. The salad was ample, chicken kabob tasty, rice was bland, and the salmon nothing special. The wine was inexpensive and the Baklava just OK. Considering the fair price, it is worth a try.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drbosendorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosphorus Cafe Grill also viewed

Port Washington, Long Island
 
Port Washington, Long Island
Roslyn, Long Island
 
Roslyn, Long Island
Port Washington, Long Island
 

Been to Bosphorus Cafe Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing