We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

La Motta's Waterside Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Port Washington, N.Y.
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Went to this beautiful restaurant the Saturday,6/23/2012 very crowded, but I can see why, all dishes cooked to perfection.. The food was excellent as was the the polite staff...Tropical drinks were tasty.. Had a few obnoxious guest giving all staff a rough time.. Manager handled them like a pro, seemed like they just wanted to get freebies on the house.. Very disrespectful bunch of clowns....This lovely reataurant was excellent ... Will be back again and again..As for the trailer park trash that bad mouthed the place, go back to the hole u came out of..This waterside restaurant was great.. Have drink at the outside patio bar.. friendly bar staff... can't say enough good things about the food, staff, and the lovely manager...She put up with a lot and handled herself like a lady...(some people just belong at home being miserable) Keep up the great work LaMotta's will be back.. thanks

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    16
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Waitstaff RUDE!!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I used to go there several times, but after having to wait FOREVER at times for a table, or for my food, I GOT FED UP!! They're not that great that I can't go somewhere else for good food, and SERVICE.!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer5518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax while you eat.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

La Motta's is a restaurant on a boat dock. The service is very good and it does not break your wallet.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank georgeny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food wine and water”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Eating and drinking over looking the bay is a real treat at LaMotta's. The plates come out piled high. The linguini with clams came out and my cousin thought someone else order it to, but the whole bowl was for him. He counted the claims and there were at least two dozen it fact he filled up on the claims and left most of the pasta. This is an old style family run great place to eat, there is live music almost every night on the side deck.

Helpful?
1 Thank Busterkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I went to this restaurant on a beautiful Friday night last summer. After a long week at work a bunch of us wanted to eat outside on the water and enjoy some good food and good company. We got none of the above. 1 hour wait for a table, we dealt with it. No outdoor seating available, we dealt with it. 20 minutes for someone to come over once seated, we dealt with it. 30 minutes for appetizer to come out we started to get very annoyed. We heard four people at the table next to us talking about how awful the service was each time they come here but try to give it a chance each year thinking they might change. We engage in a conversation with them and to no surprise find out they are overwhelmingly disappointed once again.

Manager and or owner comes over to them while we are chatting and asks how everything is. They go off on her about awful service, food mediocre, etc. The response they are given - we are so very busy, it's Friday night and we are overwhelmed. Best line of the night from one of the guys sitting next to us "Oh it's Friday night, every restaurant is crowded on Friday night!"

Needless to say, our food took another 35-45 minutes to come out and was nothing great. Left annoyed and unimpressed, definitely won't be going back here!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Motta's Waterside Restaurant also viewed

Port Washington, Long Island
Port Washington, Long Island
 
Port Washington, Long Island
Port Washington, Long Island
 
Port Washington, Long Island
Port Washington, Long Island
 

Been to La Motta's Waterside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing