We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen Better Days”
Review of La Piccola Liguria

La Piccola Liguria
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seen Better Days”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A once terrific restaurant has gone stale.Everyone there and everything they serve seems dated and old. The food is no longer fresh and exciting but now it is bland and uninteresting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Still Great”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went with friend's for a Christmas lunch, the numerous appetizers and entrees are just to much for the customers to remember never mind the staff. The staff recommend the smoked trout appetizer which was excellent from my few choices, others at the table had tuna Carpaccio as well as beef with melon, by all accounts they were all excellent. My entrée was steak topped with salad and shaving of parmesan cheese as very good, others had cod and risotto. The only slight disappointment dessert, I had the fruit with sorbet and cherry liquor, while good, it just didn't equal a very similar dessert I had last week. Dessert were so large I got to sample several others and they were all first class.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Italian doesn't get any better than this around here.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Forget the menu. Just try to keep track of all the specials the waiter will list as you begin your lovely evening here. Assuming you can get in. If you want a Saturday night, best make your reservations weeks in advance. Unless you want a table for 2 in the summer - we have gotten in at the last minute when it was just a couple.
Just order what you like. It will be fabulous. They just don't serve anything that isn't great here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“No Flaws, Many Peaks”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've been coming to La Piccola Liguria for years. I have even eaten from the menu! The list of specials is outstanding. Anything seafood will be wonderful. They have game. They do great pastas. Meats are perfectly prepared. The less usual items are just superb. If they have it, try the vitello tunato, or the gnocchi, or the duck, or any fish made Livornese, or the fresh grilled sardines, or the . . . And leave room for dessert.

Reservations are needed.

Oh, they also have a very reasonably priced lunch 3 course special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealDoctorLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands Point, NY
1 review
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always a great meal. Never overcrowded. Good service by friendly knowledgeable wait staff. Great specials every night (I never look at the menu). Not too noisy. My favorite restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piccola Liguria also viewed

Port Washington, Long Island
Port Washington, Long Island
 
Port Washington, Long Island
Port Washington, Long Island
 

Been to La Piccola Liguria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing