We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Gillinder Glass Factory & Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We no longer offer factory tours (as of 8/7/17). The gift store will be closing on September 1, 2017.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Originally a glass product production factory (still does that) Gillinder has opened its facility to local glass artisans. A front shop sells some of their work and shares that space with historical artifacts from the opening days of the factory. Be sure to go on one of their Tour Days, for inside access to the furnaces, cooling racks, and the opportunity to watch glass blowers in action! Only four or five dates scheduled each year & well worth the trip!

Thank AMS_RPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ally54, Director of Sales at Gillinder Glass Factory & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for visiting us today and for taking the time to write a review! Gillinder Glass is a world leader in manufacturing of industrial and commercial glass; we make over half the airport runway lights in the United States, as well as aircraft, theater, military, pool, landscape, architectural as well as other lenses, all pressed into molds, one at a time by our skilled glass workers using state of the art technology. The gift shop, which houses our museum, is host to the factory tours, both production tours (M-F) as well as the special glass blowing demonstrations with our guest glass artists 8 times a year; 5 dates remain in 2013 beginning in October. We hope you will return to see our guest glass artists in the fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was so close to us & so interesting-we really enjoyed the tour. We did not know that they made the warning lights for the air strips & they make such an interesting array of objects- both useful & cosmetic.

1  Thank helenbillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ally54, Director of Sales at Gillinder Glass Factory & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for visiting Gillinder Glass and taking the time to share your experience. Our gift store is host to our factory tours, both production tours during the week (pressed glass) and special glass blowing demonstrations with our guest artists 8 times a year. Gillinder Glass makes over half the airport runway lights in the United States, all one at a time, not mass produced! If you take a tour during the week, you might see airport runway lights being made, or aircraft lighting, or perhaps pool, spa, theater, military, industrial, commercial, landscape--or even lenses for Disney! We hope you will come back in the fall to see our guest glass artists. Check our website for dates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just want to thank the staff at Gillinder's for such a wonderful experience! It was so educational to learn the history of one of the oldest glass companies in the USA. It was wonderful to see the worker's in action making one piece of glass work at a time! Cute gift shop with lovely items for purchase. Thanks for helping to make our outing in Port Jervis a memorable, educational and fun day! Linda & Stan Brancato

2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ally54, Director of Sales at Gillinder Glass Factory & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Gillinder Glass and we appreciate the time you took to share your experience on tripadvisor! Thank you, Linda & Stan--we hope you will come back and see us again! Allyson Gillinder, Director-Retail Operations, Gillinder Glass Store.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I too went on this class trip and thought it was wonderful ! This is a very educational tour that lasted 45 minutes - not 15 minutes and the history of Gillinder glass goes back as far as 6 generations. This business has employed many people in this small town, and many artists display their beautiful glass work in the gift shop.,( for those of you hung up on buddah figures being displayed )..... Examples of Gillinder Glass can be found in numerous collections, private and public, including those at the Museum of American Glass, the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The firm also recreated historic lighting glassware for the Library of Congress.
Our tour guide Betty is a retired elementary teacher and she did a wonderful job of educating us on the history of this factory. Later when speaking to her after the tour I found out that she too made some of the beautiful pieces that were in the gift shop. The ladies were very gracious towards our group in giving us a group rate when we were'nt sure if the rest of the group was coming or not, and they were also gracious when a glass ornament was broken by one of the children attending. I will be going back in October for the glass blowing demonstration.

Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ally54, Director of Sales at Gillinder Glass Factory & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you, Dawn, for taking the time to share your recent experience at Gillinder Glass! We enjoyed having your group visit us; it is always a pleasure to have well-behaved, interested children like those in your group take our tour. We thank you for allowing us to share with your group who we are and what we do. We look forward to seeing you again in October when the guest glass artists return; glass blowing will be a very different process than what you saw this week—just as interesting, but very different!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our small school visited this location and I would NOT recommend it for small children. I was a bit shocked the tour only lasted about 15 minutes and the Buddha's everywhere were quite offensive,
I am not sure why they would have it that way, giving that most people are expecting an old fashioned glass tour, maybe it is because it is a new age thing>? I expected a nice trip into the past, and granted they did have on display older items, but why the Buddha stuff? Beats me!

1  Thank NewYorkJubilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ally54, Director of Sales at Gillinder Glass Factory & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit to Gillinder Glass. I am very sorry if the Buddhas, which were first produced in the 1930’s, offended you. They are a part of our rich 151+ year history (and have nothing to do with the "new age" thing)--as are many other items we have produced since 1876 and continue to produce today and offer in our gift store along with items made by other artists. Our factory is a working glass factory, not just a "this is how it was done in the past" show, nor is it a "step back in time”; today we specialize in producing industrial and commercial glass, using the latest state of the art technologies to hand make, one by one airport runway lights, interior and exterior aircraft lighting, pool & spa lenses, LED lights, as well as many other modern applications which did not exist (even in our vocabulary!) 151 years ago.
I am perplexed why you stated that the tour only lasted about 15 minutes; I was there, and I know your group started the tour at about 10:20-10:25 and didn't arrive back into the store until after 11:00 --- our tours typically last between 30-40 minutes, as yours did. Betty, your tour guide, is a retired pre-school teacher who conducts a fabulous tour--she definitely tailors the tour towards kids, as do our other tour guides.
We enjoy sharing our history with our customers and showing off what we do; we are proud of what we do. Allyson Gillinder, Director-Retail Operations, Gillinder Glass Store

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gillinder Glass Factory & Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing