We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably Priced, Excellent Gourmet Thai Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Gourmet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Gourmet
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced, Excellent Gourmet Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant serves one of the best Thai food in the tri-state area. Everytime we go to Suffolk county, we never fail to stop by and get our Thai food fix here. It doesn't hurt that their dishes are reasonably priced. We haven't seen price increases on most of the dishes for the past few years. Weekends are busier time for the restaurant. It's a BYOB establishment though we never find the need to bring any. The Thai tea/coffee is usually our beverage of choice. Our favorite dishes are shrimp in the blanket, crab roll, mee grob, pa thai, pad see yew, pad ke mow, massaman curry though we try other dishes every now and then. The service is speedy an friendly, and the restaurant is clean and cozy. The only downside is the fact that they only accept cash... but that's probably the main reason why the prices have been maintained all these years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mar1an1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place has a great reputation amongst locals- and it's well deserved. No nonsense, freash creative Thai dishes that are tasteful and varied. BYOB (no alcohol license).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“LOVE THEIR PAD THAI NOODLES!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Love this restaurant...been there a few times and each time i try to order something different and they 're all good. My fave is Pad Thai noodles w/ shrimp & chicken it's to die for! One draw back is you have to bring your own beer or wine ( they only have soda) or (as in my case) go to the Chinese restaurant next door and they will sell you beer and you can go to the restaurant and enjoy your Thai food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenJens69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic, New York, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I've been here about 5 times. I absolutely love their Flat Noodles with Broccoli and Chicken! This dish is to die for. Their Pad Thai is also very good. I had the Satay appetizer yesterday, it was ok. Their other dishes seem to be average. I enjoyed it but its a gamble.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama city, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've been going here for the past ten years and look forward to it every time. Food is always well-prepared. Beware that it is cash only and Byob. Due to small size it can get cramped waiting for take out.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank counselor19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Gourmet also viewed

Port Jefferson Station, Long Island
Port Jefferson Station, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson Station, Long Island
Port Jefferson Station, Long Island
 

Been to Thai Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing