We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza & salad with great Italian Ices.”
Review of Colosseo

Colosseo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza & salad with great Italian Ices.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This pizzeria has delicious pizza. It is always fresh and piping hot. They have a small dining room. They also have a counter with stools if patrons are in a hurry and just want a quick bite to eat.
They also have italian ices that all the kids LOVE!
They DO NOT accept credit cards-cash only.Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    18
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
long island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“pizza as an art form”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

the siciliian pizza is like a work of art. spectacular!!! the best pizza you will ever have.you owe it to yourself to try it, and it will surely be the best you have ever had.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islanderfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What no dinners?”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

How does a pizza restaurant, after many years, still don't serve dinners? Pizza and calzones only on the menu? What a waste. Their Neopolitan pizza is soggy. Sicilian very doughy. Good for those that don't know good pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Real New York Pizza”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband is from Long Island so he's adamant about having a pizza fix whenever we're there. The rest of the family was very clear that Colosseo is THE place to go. I'd never had Sicilian pie before (give me a break, I'm English!) so I guess I had the one that sets the standard! That and a regular pie were demolished in very short order by all of us. The filling to crust ratio was perfect on both types of pie. The crust on the regular pie, which can normally define it as cardboard or divine, was cooked to perfection. I hear all the time from my husband that crusts aren't cooked enough anywhere like they are in New York so I now know what he's talking about.
Colosseo serves only pizza and calzone so they can be the best at what they do. There is no delivery, only eat-in and take-out.
Next time we're up there, I'm having a calzone...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beanetbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“this is the place the locals recommend”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were visiting Long Island for a funeral and both the rental car agent and the funeral home director highly recommended this pizza. We ordered two pizzas along with salads from Colosseo's and it was indeed delicious. It was crazy on a Friday night (I counted 19 people rushing around behind the main counter) and it was standing room only when we ordered, but still only took 20 minutes to get our pizza. As others have mentioned, be prepared with cash because they do not take credit/debit cards. They are very generous with their pizza toppings...I could not believe how heavy two boxes of pizza were while carrying them out to the car.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChampCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colosseo also viewed

Port Jefferson Station, Long Island
Hauppauge, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing