We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Village Inn(Stony Brook)
$235
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
219
126
89
52
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
126
89
52
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport jeffmain buildingthe galleywater viewlong islandbanquet managerseveral buildingscocktail hourstony brookwavelynnweddingeventbrunchctfireplacemaitre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 525 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2008

I wish I would have known......
Balcony offers no semblance of privacy. From the pictures it looks as though your balcony overlooks the waterfront directly. What you don't see is that there are a row of buildings infront of you at ground level, and a parking lot. This means that people from the parking lot are looking right at you, and people walking through the row are able to see you overhead.

The Hotel, is actually a collection of quaint little buildings, separated from the main office, and the resturant. The entrance to the room you may be staying in, could be on the "street side", over a store, or over another hotel ammenity. Actually, your room can be across the street over the other buildings in the village area. Ours was over the hotel spa, and under a bunch of party animals. The floor creaked, doors banged, music vibrated the walls.

The website says that there are premium channels in the room. There aren't. There is basic cable. No dvd player.. plan on entertaining yourself in the room.. =D

Dinner at the Wave (the hotel restaurant) was disappointing. Our steaks were charbroiled on the outside and dry on the inside. They were served with a little flower on top... awwwww. The lobster tail was absolutely delicious.. served with some heated oil that was supposed to mimic butter? No soup, or salad. It cost 65.00. each for just the "Surf and Turf". I have had better meals at Red Lobster, and it included the damn salad... lol. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind spending that kind of money on a good meal.. but this meal was like Sizzler, trying to be Tavern on the Green, and failing miserably.

We wanted to order room service at 10:30 am.. and was told that we could not order any food until 11:30... which was brunch. So we wound up getting dunkin doughnuts.

The room was beautiful. Unfortunately no bath tub.. but the rain shower was amazing. I want hubby to install one right away. We had the king size suite.. so there was a semi private sitting area, as well as the bedroom area. The bed was cozy, everything was clean. There was a mini refridgerator, a coffee maker.. and the hair dryer was full sized and worked well. There is no smoking in the room, however you can smoke on the balcony. There is a place to deposit your cigarette, however no ash tray .

Despite my complaints we do want to come back. The view was awesome, the shops in the area were nice to explore.. The overall feel of the place was pleasant. Next time.. we will have our meals at one of the local restaurants (there are many to choose from). Bring some of our own coffee, creamer.. and mugs (they leave you one packet of reg coffee and one of decaf. and two cups). We will attempt avoid rainy weather so as not to be stuck in our room. We will also try to get a private balcony preferably on the 3rd floor so as not to be disturbed by creaking floors and music.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank katsachatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Everything about Danford's was great--from the furnishings and amenities to the pleasant staff. One of the staff members, Nicole, went out of her way to make our stay special, first by upgrading us to king rooms and then leaving a note and a bottle of champagne in my parents' room for their 49th anniversary. We were even put in a separate building--the Galley Building--across the street, which was at first disappointing, but once we got inside we were impressed. My parents' room, even from across the street, had a view of the water. We didn't eat in the restaurant, Wave, though it sounded lovely because we wanted to experience the town of Port Jefferson. For dinner we went to Ruvo East, which was a wonderful Italian restaurant--good food and bustling with happy customers and pleasant staff. The hostess recommended a cafe, Toast, for breakfast, and that too was perfect--a small, eclectic cafe/wine bar with great food and service.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Wow, what a wonderful vacation. We stayed there Sept. 24th thru the 29th, 2008 and we have no complaints. The hotel had undergone a recent renovation which was tastefully done. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable. We had a beautiful big screen TV and a refreshing "rain" shower. The view from the room of the L.I. Sound was beautiful. Just so relaxing sitting on the balcony watching the boats/ferries do their thing.

The grounds of the hotel were kept immaculate with beautiful flower baskets and planters everywhere.

We were treated with a very friendly welcome and we found that all of the staff were very accommodating and quick to respond to whatever our needs may have been.

The restaurant at the Hotel was absolutely delicious. We ate breakfast there almost everyday and they have a wonderful buffet selection as well as egg omlets made right there with whatever you want. The dinner menu had wonderful gourmet selections. The both nights we had dinner there, we enjoyed every bit of it - from appetizer to dessert.

The town of Port Jefferson is a great town to walk around in and shop with lots of restaurants as well. It's also conveniently located close to the beautiful wineries of L.I., which I highly recommend visiting during your stay.

We really recommend Danfords Hotel & Marina - you won't regret it - your stay will be wonderful. Ours certainly was!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooshie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

The pros were that it is a pretty place from the outside and that the shower was really nice. The cons, however, were many-- particularly a remarkably indifferent set of people working the front desk. On a hot set of nights, the air conditioner did not work. We complained after the first night about a wet carpet, but this was not taken care of. The front desk missed our wake-up call. There were problems with the reservations and the bills. The front desk was rude to relatives who were trying to reach us. All in all, when we pointed these issues out to the front desk staff on check-out, there was little remorse or interest.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hudson8Northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

First of all, the village of Port Jefferson is beautiful, and the people are extremely friendly! Danford's Inn (now called a Hotel) is the closest place you can stay that is near the marina. If you don't have a car, this is the only place you can check in to because the other B&B's are quite far from the shops and sites.

So let's talk about the hotel itself... first of all, check-in is at 4pm (not the usual 2pm at other hotels), and check-out is still at 11. The front-desk staff are not as warm and inviting as one should expect from paying so much for a hotel room.

The rooms are clean and well laid-out - that I can say, but the website boasted of offering a "beautiful view of historic Port Jefferson," which we did not get. Instead, we got the view of a dumpster through one window, and a nest of pigeons on a rooftop through another.

The website also promised a king-sized bed, but was instead a queen. Their vending machine was out of service, and their "artisanal" bottled water in the room is a whopping $6.

Wave is the name of their restaurant, but make waves, it does not. The lady who greets you at the entryway of the bar (which you have to pass through to get to the dining area) doesn't even have a clue as to how much their buffets are. I know she works at the bar and not at the restaurant, but come on! Their breakfast buffet was mediocre, and the only redeeming quality was the lady who served us (at least SHE knew what she was doing!)

I'd only go back there if they cut their price point by at least half. Otherwise, I'd rather walk 2 miles on an incline to get to the closest B&B.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank knickknackNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews