We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Village Inn(Stony Brook)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Medford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
219
125
89
52
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
125
89
52
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport jeffmain buildingthe galleywater viewlong islandbanquet managerseveral buildingscocktail hourstony brookwavelynnweddingeventbrunchctfireplacemaitre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 524 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here 3 days for business. My room had a view of the dumpsters out one window and rooftop air conditioners out the other. Good size room but rough around the edges. Continental breakfast was more then disappointing as was the service. Got up early and ate elsewhere after day one. Port Jeff is a very nice town. The hotel is located right on the bay which is great.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Django12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Danfords for a short getaway. We booked several weeks in advance. We heard it was a great place. It had a late check in time of 4pm, so, if you arrive early you have to pay to park in the village and find things to do and places to see before you settle in. Have a plan before you go. They charge you an $8. a day parking fee for the privilege of parking there, we feel it should have been included with the price they get for a room. The room was clean but dated. The bed was comfordable.The a/c was a window unit and when the wind blew it whistled threw the baffels. The bathroom was updated and very nice, it had a rain shower but no tub. It is a nice location, walk to all.The staff was very nice at both check in and check out (11am).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6jamericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Asked at front desk what time the ferry left for Bridgeport and they gave us the wrong time. They did not offer a schedule. Pretty sorry considering the ferry leaves practically from their front door. Staff need a better briefing.

Also appetisers in the restaurant at happy hour were not good. Have eaten in the restaurant before and enjoyed it but seem to have gone downhill.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a likeable hotel in a great position if you like boats as we do! We stayed 2 nights and thought our room was good. We had two double beds and the room was the size of two rooms with a bathroom in the middle. The bed was very comfortable! The bathroom had a lovely shower (but no bath) and was perhaps the best shower I have had in a hotel recently. The decor was good and we requested a view which we got over the marina. We love watching boats so the chairs on the balcony outside were a welcome extra. This hotel is right on the side of a private marina filled with beautiful boats. We thought the reception area in the main building was pleasant but the restaurant inside needed refurbishment. Breakfast was included in our room rate but it was very indifferent and although we could have ordered extra items (at an extra cost) no one suggested we do this. The waiting staff at breakfast completely ignored us. On both nights we ate in the outside restaurant which was in a lovely position and the staff were much friendlier but the food lacked something and on the second night (a Tuesday) the hotel had run out of bread? Wi fi is included in the room rate which is a bonus? Port Jefferson is handy for the ferry to Connecticut but if you want to see the Hamptons then this is bit out of the way.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina come with a higher price tag but are nicer and closer to the main building.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here many times (at least every other month for the last five years). This past year has been such a disappointment, I believe our stay this weekend was our last. This year, in every room we stayed, something has been broken. This weekend was the air conditioner and a shower which would not drain, limiting our shower to under two minutes. Upon checkout, when asked about our stay, we were met with a shrug. I have yet to meet a staff member with a vocabulary exceeding 50 one syllable words. It is too bad that we will have to find another location to get away, but I believe it is time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorx223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews