We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some us time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some us time”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Danfords for a short getaway. We booked several weeks in advance. We heard it was a great place. It had a late check in time of 4pm, so, if you arrive early you have to pay to park in the village and find things to do and places to see before you settle in. Have a plan before you go. They charge you an $8. a day parking fee for the privilege of parking there, we feel it should have been included with the price they get for a room. The room was clean but dated. The bed was comfordable.The a/c was a window unit and when the wind blew it whistled threw the baffels. The bathroom was updated and very nice, it had a rain shower but no tub. It is a nice location, walk to all.The staff was very nice at both check in and check out (11am).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6jamericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    116
    74
    47
    37
See reviews for
147
145
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motueka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Asked at front desk what time the ferry left for Bridgeport and they gave us the wrong time. They did not offer a schedule. Pretty sorry considering the ferry leaves practically from their front door. Staff need a better briefing.

Also appetisers in the restaurant at happy hour were not good. Have eaten in the restaurant before and enjoyed it but seem to have gone downhill.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a likeable hotel in a great position if you like boats as we do! We stayed 2 nights and thought our room was good. We had two double beds and the room was the size of two rooms with a bathroom in the middle. The bed was very comfortable! The bathroom had a lovely shower (but no bath) and was perhaps the best shower I have had in a hotel recently. The decor was good and we requested a view which we got over the marina. We love watching boats so the chairs on the balcony outside were a welcome extra. This hotel is right on the side of a private marina filled with beautiful boats. We thought the reception area in the main building was pleasant but the restaurant inside needed refurbishment. Breakfast was included in our room rate but it was very indifferent and although we could have ordered extra items (at an extra cost) no one suggested we do this. The waiting staff at breakfast completely ignored us. On both nights we ate in the outside restaurant which was in a lovely position and the staff were much friendlier but the food lacked something and on the second night (a Tuesday) the hotel had run out of bread? Wi fi is included in the room rate which is a bonus? Port Jefferson is handy for the ferry to Connecticut but if you want to see the Hamptons then this is bit out of the way.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina come with a higher price tag but are nicer and closer to the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here many times (at least every other month for the last five years). This past year has been such a disappointment, I believe our stay this weekend was our last. This year, in every room we stayed, something has been broken. This weekend was the air conditioner and a shower which would not drain, limiting our shower to under two minutes. Upon checkout, when asked about our stay, we were met with a shrug. I have yet to meet a staff member with a vocabulary exceeding 50 one syllable words. It is too bad that we will have to find another location to get away, but I believe it is time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorx223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the galley building attached to danfords. Lovely room, nice balcony view but post outside of our room was rotting away so we didn't even get to sit on our deck. Other than that, lots to see and do here especially watching the boats and relax with my husband and I just want to thank the lovely elderly gentleman that ran the only breakfast spot open, the Corner Copia. Great food and he was so friendly to us and thanked us for going there. Also another great place where I got the best rice pudding ever, Sweet and Savory. a must see two places if you visit and we will, again. The staff at Danfords Inn could've been a little friend list, I felt. I was told that we were hit wit having to pay a $8.00 parking fee, so I was mad about that. Overall, I will return back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mivcilluffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've been coming to Danford's for close to 20 years and while they have invested sigificantly in the establishment over the years, it still shows its age which is also part of its charm. However, A/C in the summer and heat in the winter are necessities that often only arrive after a couple of visits by engineering. I stay here several times a year, but it is the proximity to the harbor, village establishments and reliving my youth that are the attraction.

The service borders on incompetent for the desk staff, although the famed engineering staff are very apologetic and mannerly. One would think that after all the years I've stayed at this hotel and on such a frequent basis, we would not need to begin each reservation as if it were my first time. Many complain about the parking, but it's just the way the village works - pay the $8 and get used to a little inconvenience.

Wave, the onsite restaurant is marginal and in case of a storm is a convenient option whose quality is not dissimilar to room service one might expect in Cincinnati. However, there are some good restaurants within a short walking distance that are very good (Pasta Pasta and their chocolate bag dessert is enough to make you forget about any inconvenience caused by Danford's desk staff).

The most interesting thing about Danfords is the wide variance in the quality of room one is assigned. Don't bother requesting a special room as the desk staff only have a one word response - Sorry. This response will be provided even if the hotel is virtually empty during a mid-week visit during the middle of winter. There are basically two price schedules at Danfords, village view and harbor view. The issue is that a harbor view can range from a wonderful unencumbered view of the harbor with your own private balcony to a high traffic area with no privacy and a sliver of a view of something wet - which could be the harbor or maybe just a puddle. Either way, your room rate is exactly the same.

The shower contains a rain head and the cork flooring in the bath along with a slightly nautical theme is nice - keep in mind that Port Jefferson is a summer tourist location, there is no other season of interest here. The beds, bedding, televisions and othe furnishings are of modest quality and not what you might expect to pay for a room commanding north of $250 per night, but keep in mind all that the village offers even if Danfords serve you with disappointment.

In summary, at Danfords you will be treated as another unit in their head count, except by the maintenance staff. You will pay a market rate for a summer locale while being provided with varying quality that is highly hit-or-miss and outside your control and don't forget to wear comfortable shoes so you can walk to one on the many local restaurants for a good meal.

Room Tip: Don't bother trying to pick a room, for even if the hotel were completely empty the desk staff w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed here last summer. I neglected to write a review of it back then, but it was such a wonderful experience I want to share it with others. We only stayed one night for an end-of-summer getaway; I wish we had stayed longer! Upon first impression, the grounds were immaculate with flowers decorating the property all around. We checked-in right away, however, we did not like the layout of our room. Without any hesitation or consternation, they changed our room right away. In fact, they were upbeat and pleasant the whole time. The rooms were both beautiful, however. Our new room was on the 5th floor, where we had a back door that led out to the porch facing the marina. You could hear the relaxing clanking sounds of the boats and partially watch the sunset (I believe we were facing the northwest). The room was so spacious! The bathroom was the biggest I've ever seen. It was so impressive with a sit-down shower and shelves built in the wall. As for rooming in Port Jefferson, this is definitely the only place to be!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor with a view of the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
4.6 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
147 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
516 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danford's Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Property: Danford's Hotel & Marina
Address: 25 E Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777-1259
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing