We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every year, this hotel is fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This year we stayed at the Danfords Hotel for the third time. It was, again, a fantastic stay. The hotel and marina are adjacent to the Bridgeport-Port Jefferson ferry dock, which is very convenient for us because that is how we get to Long Island.

We were able to gain access to our room immediately since we arrived well past check-in time, but a family member who arrived two days after us and was only staying one night was able to check-in at 10am. That made this person's stay much more comfortable, as we wanted to spend the entire day at the beach.

The first thing I noticed in the room was an ipod/itouch charger. This was hardly necessary, but a nice touch and something very appreciated.

The room was a little larger than a standard room with two double beds at a chain hotel. We opted for the Village View room because we'd have plenty of views of the water during our stay. The beds were comfortable and clean and we enjoyed the flat screen tv after full days at the beach and visiting family. The nautical decor was very tasteful and I loved the closeup pictures of ships in our room. The bathroom was very basic but the huge shower head was wonderful. The shower also had a ledge where you could sit and it was great for bathing very sandy children.

The breakfast was more than adequate with choices of yogurt, fruit, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee and a nice tea selection.

The location of this hotel is superb. Just walking around the marina, looking at the boats, and watching the ferry come and go is wonderful and relaxing. The restaurants and shops of Port Jeff are a few steps away. And, of course, the beaches on the south shore are only a half hour away.

We only had a very few minor issues with the hotel. First, the hotel is right in the town, so it can get noisy outside. The air conditioner was very loud, and though it can drown out the noise outside, I imagine it might be annoying to some. The WIFI wasn't great; it was good for a hotel, but you could not get it in the dining room. Finally, their cable provider was Cablevision, I believe, but they did not have the YES network, which was disappointing for us. But, these things are minor and I fully expect to stay at the Danfords next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xNYmomOf2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 514 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stumbled on this gem as the result of a last minute change in plans. I would put it right there with The Three Bridges as the best places in the Stony Brook area, Can't go wrong with either.

The details:

- Property is spread amongst several buildings, one of which is actually across the street (very easy walk)..

- Lobby has a nautical feel with teak wood, brass, stonework and low ceilings. Very inviting.

- Stayed in G-19, a basic room in the building across the street. Room was huge.

- Bathroom had granite counter top, large shower with seat in it. Modern faucet and sink. Good+ water pressure. Overhead rain shower-head.

- Bed linens and pillows were of the Heavenly Bed style. Mattress wasn't quite up to that standard but overall just fine.

- Excellent refrigeration, ah, air-conditioning. Since I love a colder room and was sans wife for this adventure I was a thrilled.

- TV is a bit small for such a large room but is that a complaint or a compliment? Wing-back style chair sits in front of it. Your bed is a good distance away. Nice desk area,
large amoia (sp?) and plenty of mirrors.

- Restaurant (Wave): Excellent and they get all the money for it. $37 sirloin, $21 for chicken. Fine by me. Good wine glasses, comfortable seating. Nice view of marina.

- Service throughout the hotel could be stepped up. Not so much in ability or competence but in approachability and friendliness. This isn't Four Season's pricing and it shows a bit in the staff more than it does in the rooms and overall resort quality. No big deal to me.

- Parking is ample and easy to access. $7 a day. Fine by me.

I paid $129 plus taxes and fees. Good value. I'll be back.

- Gym is small but has dumbbells and cardio equipment - workable to me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeansDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

First of all, Port Jefferson on a weekend in summer is a lively, bustling place. If you expect it to be quiet and relaxed, you would be wrong. It is almost as busy as the Las Vegas Strip! However, our room at Danfords was really very nice. It was stylish, large and very comfortable. The bathroom was probably the nicest I have ever experienced in a hotel. Unfortunately, the rooms with two beds only have double beds and not queens, which is a little disappointing, especially since there was enough room for two queen size beds. Also, it was very noisy - from people walking by, music and party noise, and traffic. Our room was on the street side, but I imagine that the more expensive rooms on the other side of the buildings would be a bit quieter, but I am not sure how much quieter. I would stay here again and would recommend it to others, but would maybe try to avoid Saturday nights in summer, and would upgrade to a room away from the street if I could afford to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiehughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our second time at an overnight "get away from it all". We live fairly local but it's nice to do a little staycation in your area.
First off we must give Kudo's to the superb, professional, and oh so accommodating reservations manager>> Nicole B.!! She really made us feel so welcome, almost like family.
Her recommendations of rooms are excellent.
Danfords is located next to the Port Jefferson Ferry on the harbor. The rooms are sumptious and utterly clean. The service from bellhops, bartenders and wait staff are all commendable.
Would we recommend anyone to go enjoy a relaxing room and beautiful views?..'YOU BETCHA" Try it one night..get away for a night and relax relax relax...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sioned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were married in Port Jeff 25 yrs. ago and spent our honeymoon night here. We had very high hopes about spending two nights at Danfords but we were very disappointed because the building we were put in was across the street from the main location and it flooded. It had rained for about an hour and our carpet in the closet, carpet between the queen beds and carpet at entrance to the bath were soaking wet, so wet, that our suitcases were wet. No latch on the door and the humidity was 80% in the room with the a.c. going. Also, no weather stripping on the door so my husband had to put paper towels in the cracks to keep the bugs out. Upon closer inspection of the room, we came to the conclusion that this room had flooded before and it was never fixed. We complained to management and they said they were not aware of any problem. It was obvious from the damaged molding along the carpet that they had a serious water problem in this room. Management moved us to another room in the main building and it was like sleeping in a hot attic. No thermostat in the room. The floors and doors creaked in the room as well as all over this hotel. The hot water in the sink came out of the cold handle. The two rooms that we stayed in had the same decor that I remember and have pictures of 25yrs. ago! The rooms were clean and the shower pressure was great. The flowers on the property were beautiful and the breakfast in the dining room was nice. I was very surprised at all the trash and dirty dishes laying around the property. Parking is poor on the weekend. Don't stay in the main building if you want to go to bed before 11pm. A baptism was going on while we were there and the music was so loud you wouldn't be able to sleep. I was really looking forward to this trip and was sad to see what happened to Danfords. The only good thing, the staff was nice and management gave us one night free. The outside of the buildings, if you look close, look like they won't last another 25yrs due to the sea air. The time to renovate is now.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXMomTheWoodlandsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was the co-chair of setting up a major technical 3 day conference at Danford's. It involved about 250 participants from the entire northeast

While the weather was spectacular we were immensely pleased with the level of professionalism and commitment by the entire Danford’s staff who helped not only make the arrangements prior to the conference but put all those arrangements into motion during the 3 day event. Everything worked like clockwork and all the staff was so very pleasant and helpful throughout the conference. Their staff was there whenever we needed something ….. the word “no” was not in their vocabulary. Danford’s was always flexible with our dynamic schedule and venue changes, the food which won rave reviews from attendees was ample and superb, and lastly, the rooms and property were beautifully maintained. We definitely would consider this venue again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Upon our arrival everyone was so friendly and helpful. We actually stumbled upon this place due to a great bartender near Orient recommending it to us. We stayed 3 nights, our room was so spacious and had privacy with 2 tv's. First time for us to Long Island and we can't wait to go back. We took short day trips to the Hampton's and to see old relative homes in the area. Also eat at MAMA LUMBARDI'S :) , Take a fishing trip on the Osprey FIshing Tours at the evening hours ($45 each) and see sunset.. Everyone caught fish, we also golfed somewhere that they recommended. We can't wait to return... may become a family favorite!

Room Tip: Stay Here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheONEILLs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
23.7 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
4.6 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
905 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
10.8 mi away
Jake's 58 Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danford's Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Address: 25 E Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777-1259
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Price Range: $114 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing