We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax and Enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
1 review
“Great Place to Relax and Enjoy”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Upon our arrival everyone was so friendly and helpful. We actually stumbled upon this place due to a great bartender near Orient recommending it to us. We stayed 3 nights, our room was so spacious and had privacy with 2 tv's. First time for us to Long Island and we can't wait to go back. We took short day trips to the Hampton's and to see old relative homes in the area. Also eat at MAMA LUMBARDI'S :) , Take a fishing trip on the Osprey FIshing Tours at the evening hours ($45 each) and see sunset.. Everyone caught fish, we also golfed somewhere that they recommended. We can't wait to return... may become a family favorite!

Room Tip: Stay Here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheONEILLs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    119
    76
    47
    39
See reviews for
151
149
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

when im visiting port jefferson, Danfords is the only place that comes to mind, with great night life, exquisite dinning, warm and freindly atmosphere. i have never been so impressed with the attentiveness of my every need from the staff at Danfords, i highly recommend Danfords as THE PLACE TO BE. if you're visiting the north shore of long island then Danfords should deffinately be a choice spot on your journey!!!

Room Tip: the rooms are absolutely beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have been celebrating our wedding anniversary every year at Danford's (with a few exceptions) for the last twenty-five years. This year there was a snafu when we arrived. Our reservation (always the same date AND room every year) was MIA...and since it was a Friday night...the inn was almost completely booked. Thanks to Director of Rooms, Robert Klaus, we were able to celebrate as usual. He handled it with class--and even set up next year's reservation! Ryan, the desk clerk, was also quite helpful in making sure everything went smoothly. See you same time next year. We always have a terrific time at Danford's.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veevee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I have been to Danfords on many occasions,I have had nothing but a GREAT experience everytime.The entire staff is just amazing.It feels like home when I walk through the door.I can't wait until next friday,we are planning another weekend get away.Danfords is the place to be when you want a warm friendly enviroment,great food and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenscosmetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Danfords was the only venue my daughter choose for her wedding! As a destination wedding (CT to NY via ferry ride) we could not have been more impressed while preparing for the perfect wedding weekend. The Mgr. of Catering Sales was exceptional! Amy always was available (via emails & cell calls) to answer all questions. From Friday night Lobster Bake through Sunday's breakfast, she made us feel very confident that all festivities would be perfect! Thanks to her & her staff we most certainly did have the "perfect" wedding day!
The staff at Reservations went over & above (issuing 55 guests bags) to make sure that all guests felt important & actually wished them to have a great time at our wedding!
I can't stress enough about the staff at Danfords. From parking the cars to checking out, everyone was always friendly & accomodating to us & all guests. No matter how small or large the request was, it was executed immediately.
Anyone wishing to have their wedding at Danfords, will NOT be disappointed. Our guests said the accomodations, food, staff were wonderful and voted it the wedding of the year!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have been updated, exceptional neat & clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We just had our 35th Class Reunion at Danfords last weekend and it was terrific. We planned this event from out of town and Lauren Ullman, the Events Manager, could not have been more helpful. She was quick to respond to all of our questions and concerns in the months prior to the event and once we were in town, she and her staff were at our disposal the entire time. Access to the room was available to us during the day of the event so our band could set up early and practice and we could get in to put some personal touches on the event. Daisy, the Banquet Manager, checked with me throughout the evening to make sure everything was timed perfectly. The evening could not have gone better. Guests remarked how great the staff was. Dinner was ordered and served, plates were removed and you barely saw them do it. Everything was just first class and the evening was magical. Thank you again, Danfords, for making this a wonderful evening from beginning to end.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dejais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a large old inn with a restaurant/bar on the water. I arrived on a Saturday night and the place was hopping. Checking in was OK but I had to ask the staff to help me find my room and get my bags up 2 sets of staircases (this is not a disabled or elderly friendly hotel). My room was OK but overlooked the ferry area, so between the bar noise/music (which lasts on the weekend until midnight) and the ferry that runs at 5-6 am, sleeping did not happen. I did ask for a quiet room and was told this was the only room available. The closet was a joke, it was in a small cubby hole and you had to crawl in to put your clothes in and the hangers were attached to the rack (did they think I was going to steal their hangers). I asked for more towels and had to call twice in 30 min to get additional towels. My room was not cleaned, the bed was made and the bathroom was not touched in 3 nights.

The small town Port Jefferson is a tourist town stop. The restaurant, Steamers, across the street is very good for fresh seafood.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
4.6 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
147 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
21.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
18.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danford's Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Property: Danford's Hotel & Marina
Address: 25 E Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777-1259
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing