We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing but a view!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lombardi's On The Sound

Lombardi's On The Sound
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing but a view!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The food was awful the service was poor and the room had a musky smell. I would like to suggest a new chef for the kitchen and tile floors in place of that gross rug. What a shame such a beautiful view!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jag47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    24
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York, United States
Level Contributor
256 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I love to watch the sunset, especially on birthdays, anniversaries and other romantic occasions. We are lucky, living on Long Island, to have a large choice of waterfront restaurants and this is the perfect venue. Not only is the view beautiful but the service is excellent, and the food delicious and plentiful. My husband's salmon must have weighed a pound and I had to take a doggie bag home for my zuppa di pesce. Considering the size of the portions and the freshness of the food, the prices are quite fair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lombardi's Revisited-Sunday Brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have always had high regard for Lombardi's on the Sound for their evening dining and after having Sunday brunch at Lombardi's on the "Bay", which was a real treat, decided to take the family back to the "Sound" for Sunday brunch. Soooo mediocre! Most of the food was bland to tasteless; the service was poor; had to chase down waitress 3 times for more coffee. Providing patrons with refill is a "no brainer." In a nutshell (no pun intended) won't go back!!!! Will most likely return to Lombardi's on the bay. How can they be of the same family yet so different????

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charliez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and great scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have dinned many times here, my husband and I even got married here, and it is a restaurant that consistently has great food every time. No one is ever disappointed with their meal and as alway, there is always a lot of it. I always want to try new restaurants, but I keep coming back here for many reasons. 1. The food is always great. 2. The views are fantastic. I would highly recommend the restaurant and the place as a venue since the food is just as good and plentiful if you have an event here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gigantic portions, beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited Lombardi's prior to getting onto the Port Jefferson Ferry to return to Connecticut. It is a 5 minute drive from the ferry. Be sure you have it plugged into your GPS as it is off the beaten track. The restaurant is part of a country club and has magnificent views of the Long Island Sound. The outdoor tables have the best views. If sitting inside, try to get a table by the windows.

The food portion sizes are gigantic. It is not officially "family style" but it really is perfect for a large group so everyone can share the food. If you go as a couple, my advice would be to share an appetizer, or each of you order either the salad or pasta as your side, so you can share those also. Come hungry!

The service was friendly, the orders came out fairly quickly, and the food was tasty. I would most definitely recommend this restaurant, especially if you have a larger group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's On The Sound also viewed

Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Lombardi's On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing