We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lombardi's Revisited-Sunday Brunch”

Lombardi's On The Sound
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lombardi's Revisited-Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have always had high regard for Lombardi's on the Sound for their evening dining and after having Sunday brunch at Lombardi's on the "Bay", which was a real treat, decided to take the family back to the "Sound" for Sunday brunch. Soooo mediocre! Most of the food was bland to tasteless; the service was poor; had to chase down waitress 3 times for more coffee. Providing patrons with refill is a "no brainer." In a nutshell (no pun intended) won't go back!!!! Will most likely return to Lombardi's on the bay. How can they be of the same family yet so different????

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charliez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    30
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and great scenery!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have dinned many times here, my husband and I even got married here, and it is a restaurant that consistently has great food every time. No one is ever disappointed with their meal and as alway, there is always a lot of it. I always want to try new restaurants, but I keep coming back here for many reasons. 1. The food is always great. 2. The views are fantastic. I would highly recommend the restaurant and the place as a venue since the food is just as good and plentiful if you have an event here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Gigantic portions, beautiful views”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited Lombardi's prior to getting onto the Port Jefferson Ferry to return to Connecticut. It is a 5 minute drive from the ferry. Be sure you have it plugged into your GPS as it is off the beaten track. The restaurant is part of a country club and has magnificent views of the Long Island Sound. The outdoor tables have the best views. If sitting inside, try to get a table by the windows.

The food portion sizes are gigantic. It is not officially "family style" but it really is perfect for a large group so everyone can share the food. If you go as a couple, my advice would be to share an appetizer, or each of you order either the salad or pasta as your side, so you can share those also. Come hungry!

The service was friendly, the orders came out fairly quickly, and the food was tasty. I would most definitely recommend this restaurant, especially if you have a larger group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went for a mid week birthday dinner celebration with family. The food was delicious and the presentation was great. The value was exceptional.

The views of the Long Island Sound were spectuclar.

The service was above great and we cannot wait for another occasion to celebrate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Massive amounts of food, although service a bit school.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food was very good. Stuffed chicken was outstanding as was fried zucchini and portobello salad. Humongous portions, friendly servers, although service was just a tad bit slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JRNYSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's On The Sound also viewed

Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Lombardi's On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing