We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gigantic portions, beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lombardi's On The Sound

Lombardi's On The Sound
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gigantic portions, beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited Lombardi's prior to getting onto the Port Jefferson Ferry to return to Connecticut. It is a 5 minute drive from the ferry. Be sure you have it plugged into your GPS as it is off the beaten track. The restaurant is part of a country club and has magnificent views of the Long Island Sound. The outdoor tables have the best views. If sitting inside, try to get a table by the windows.

The food portion sizes are gigantic. It is not officially "family style" but it really is perfect for a large group so everyone can share the food. If you go as a couple, my advice would be to share an appetizer, or each of you order either the salad or pasta as your side, so you can share those also. Come hungry!

The service was friendly, the orders came out fairly quickly, and the food was tasty. I would most definitely recommend this restaurant, especially if you have a larger group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    26
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went for a mid week birthday dinner celebration with family. The food was delicious and the presentation was great. The value was exceptional.

The views of the Long Island Sound were spectuclar.

The service was above great and we cannot wait for another occasion to celebrate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Massive amounts of food, although service a bit school.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food was very good. Stuffed chicken was outstanding as was fried zucchini and portobello salad. Humongous portions, friendly servers, although service was just a tad bit slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JRNYSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“OMG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

lombardis is just excellent, the best , awesome, epic, phenominal food, so good! oh the best taste of food i ever had!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lolli p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hauppauge new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Marginal at best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you want wedding catering hall food and service.
And you are smart enough to fill up at the cocktail hour,so when your main course arrives you can pick at it and push it around on your plate and you are talking and enjoying the company of others and not notice or care about the food on your plate.
Then this is the place for you.
Nothing really wrong with anything . If it was a wedding you would say yea it was ok food. And for the most part as long as the service was fast thats all that counts.
Well if Im spending $135.00 for dinner for two. I dont want to be briskly lead to my table,i dont want plates to be tossed down on my table ,with the accurate eye of a vegas magic act.
Im sure the wait person did not, but with the speed that she took our order ,she mite as well have asked meat chicken or fish?
Every person who works in this restaurant had to come rite out of there catering hall.
You would be better off going to some Fridays or apple bees type of restaurant where they train there staff. and the food is tasty . If it was not for my good fortune to have amazing company and conversation .I would have been asking will anyone notice if we leave early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank racejv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's On The Sound also viewed

Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Lombardi's On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing