We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Always quality food, excellent service and great views of LI Sound” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lombardi's On The Sound

Lombardi's On The Sound
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always quality food, excellent service and great views of LI Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are never disappointed after dining at "Lombardi's on the Sound", "Mama Lombardi's" or "Lombardi's on The Bay". Great views of Long Island Sound or Great South Bay. Food and service are always "top drawer". Moderate prices! Well worth visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charliez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    27
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
124 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occassion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Lombardi family restaurants are always very good. My family frequently books large family dinners here for special occassions and they never disappoint. The food is great. I would recommend the chicken rollatini. Sounds like an ordinary dish, but it is fantastic. They have a good selection of wines. For dessert, the napoleon is a must try. The service is always impeccable. The wait staff is extremely friendly and accomadting. The location is lovely. I would definitely recommend for an occassion or just a nice dinner out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teriLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best View of the Sound”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lombardi's on the Sound gives the absolutely best view of Long Island Sound of any establishment in Port Jefferson. The outdoor deck is very nice in good weather. There is a nice bar and dining room that is well suited for business lunch and dinner. Sunday brunch is especially good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYFLsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I had lunch , last week of August 2012. I din't like to post negative reviews but this is the first time in my life I ever tipped under 20 percent! The bus boys were great, all the other waiters seemed engaged. My "wanna be mafia looking goofball" was a jerk. Attitude squared! Spilled and kicked off the deck , ice cubes from not paying attention pouring water! After taking our order, never saw him again ( in retrospect , a good thing). A shame one employee can ruin my experience for the other professional staff. The view, the food, the atmosphere, all great. The Goofball, who didn't introduce himself, may I recommend Etiquette School Fool!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank velvetrevolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

You can't go wrong with the food at any Mama's restaurant. It was delicious, fresh and plentiful. When I first walked in I immediately notice a very musty smell which is off putting in an italian restaurant. Maybe they can pump up the smell of garlic! We waiting 1/2 hour for an outdoor table which is worth the wait. The bar was very crowded which a mostly senior crowd eating at the bar. After pushing through we had some decent drinks. The star of the night is the view. Beautiful! The food was also worth talking about! Great seafood, steaks and pasta all enjoyed at out table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiff5LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's On The Sound also viewed

Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Lombardi's On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing