We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Long!”
Review of The Fifth Season

The Fifth Season
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fifth Season is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mariners Way
Description: Local farms and waters are the inspiration for this New American restaurant that focuses on preparing menus using ingredients that change with each season. American microbrews and wines are carefully selected to pair with each dish our chefs create. Enjoy our House-Infused Artisanal Cocktails made with seasonal purees and fresh squeezed juices while overlooking the Long Island Sound on either the outdoor patio, upstairs seating or cozy lounge. Established in 2004 in Greenport, this Zagat top-rated restaurant for both food and service moved in Spring 2008 to Port Jefferson harbor.
long island, new york
Level Contributor
134 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Too Long!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I went here for our anniversary dinner. We read some revies on Trip Advisor and Yelp and thought we'd give it a shot. We waited over and hour and a half for our main dish and just under 45 minutes for our appetizer, which was mozzorella, tomato and prosciutto. The manager did come to apologize and the place was busy, however, no reason for us to wait as long as we did.
Next time we are in Port and it's not too busy, we're likely to try it again, but for lunch, not dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank frankieb6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    63
    30
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful summer feeling!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We live nearby but wanted a nice outdoor place to have a special lunch. The covered porch with ceiling fans was very comfortable even on a very hot day. Our waitress, Lauren was so genuine and attentive. Not a huge menu, but all dishes were good. I loved my grilled vegetable sandwich with qinoa as a side. The gelato sampler was delicious for dessert. A little pricey for lunch, but I would def go back. Only down side is the noise from the traffic. Upstairs bar looked great-made me want to stay for happy hour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice location”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Quick & straight to the point:

pros- everything we ordered was excellent (Kobe burgers, lobster bisque and lobster cakes), food was prepared and presented wonderfully

cons- felt a little outdated inside, interior decor could use some updating, a little cramped but wasn't crowded at the time

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank npapali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fifth Season Rocks”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have eaten here four times including once with a group of 13 people. Service, food, wines were all excellent each and every time. Not an inexpensive restaurant but reasonable prices for its quality.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
304 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fifth Season”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ate at 5th season in the midst of hurricane Andrea. Lotsa rain. Not many patrons because of the weather. This was our 1st time eating here & it won't be the last. Everything was very good....the food, the atmosphere & a very friendly wait staff. There was a limited menu but whatever was ordered was really good. Enjoyable evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fifth Season also viewed

Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to The Fifth Season? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing