We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more of a harbor-front restaurant”
Review of Steamroom

Steamroom
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expected more of a harbor-front restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The food is just average -- avoid the fish and chips -- but the scenery is lovely. We watched the ferry come and go and people strolling by in the outdoor seating area on a lovely, breezy day. It's counter service, plastic utensils of course, and the fish is not unlike a Long John Silver's. It was expensive and skimpy on the portions. Have a drink here but go to a more upscale restaurant for your seafood. One member of our party ordered a shrimp platter that was pretty much six tiny shrimp hiding beneath a massive bed of shoestring French fries.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank featuremom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    60
    37
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“expected better”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Reviews I read were good and it was crowded but the food was average and the prices were not lower than an average restaurant. Steamroom looks like mcdonalds serving lobsters. THe fried onions were greasy and the lobster was very average. wont go there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliaberkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quick, close - what more can you ask for?”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Food was delicious... Typical fried style NE food. It is also right at the ferry and so you can grab a bite and then hope on the ferry. It was affordable for what you were getting and the service was quick. Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maestra611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, ok food”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

There are 4 tables on an outdoor deck where you can sit & look at the ferries coming in & out of Port Jefferson. My Husband, myself & my son sat at one of these tables. While the sun was shining & it was a beautiful day & view, the food was just ok. My Husband did enjoy his linguini with white clam sauce & my son enjoyed his chicken fingers & fries. My food, a fried shrimp platter was ok. The french fries were cold. We also ordered baked clams which were truly horrible. One other thing we ordered was a pitcher of beer that was warm. Overall, I'm glad I finally tried the Steamroom but I would not eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank livelifetocruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This place has indoor and outdoor seating. It is counter service only, however they do clean up for you when you are done. Nice to sit outside and see the ferries coming and gooing. The food is very good--the coconut shrimp and fish and chips are awesome! (but I do agree with a previous post about the lobster roll-if you want one, go somewhere else) It is a nice casual stop while visiting Port Jeff village.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katamaran687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamroom also viewed

Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Steamroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing