We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and a feeling of serenity”

Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and a feeling of serenity”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Tom and Jennifer made us feel welcome- their home is calm and welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. A short drive to town and off the noisy path so that worked very well for us. Tom offered a great assortment of breakfast choices to a lovely table setting. This is not where you would want to stay if you are looking for area to sit outside or to linger on deck. But for a great time in the lovely town of Port Jefferson, you can most certainly enjoy a quiet getaway after partaking in the noisy section of town. Clean, friendly and serene feeling.

Room Tip: This home is filled with pieces that are antique and Asian décor. We found it lovely and calming. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

my husband and i just spent the night at the golden pineapple it was incredible. tom and jennifer were so welcoming. we spent our night in the bunny room which was adorable and so inviting. it was so clean and bright. the bathroom was very clean and a great size. what a true romantic getaway tucked away in a quiet neighborhood just walking distance from the action in port jefferson. tom and jennifer made us an incredible breakfast...yummy delicious!!!! we highly recommend The Golden Pineapple!!!!! we will definitely be returning to our new favorite getaway. Thank you Tom and Jennifer for opening your home to us we will be back.....

Room Tip: we loved the bunny room very cozy.....bed and central ac very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deneen830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Only stay here if you have NO other options. This place lacks most of the positive qualities you'd want in a B&B.
Paper thin walls so you can hear your neighbors breath
Metal, spring sqeeky bed
Cheap decor (think yard sale or Goodwill)
Nowhere to put your toiletries except the floor
The owner's yard is cramped BUT they also collect old Mercedes so you have to sandwich your car between 9 other cars. (I counted 9 old Mercedes that I could see. Some were on the street, some in the drive, some on the lawn! Plus they had other old cars here and there!)
Do yourself a favor and avoid this place unless you're desparate!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HollyButtitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Jefferson hotels

Marblehead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Golden Pinapple for one night when we were in town visiting family recently. We were charged $180 for a room that not only did not have a TV or a functioning alarm clock, but the door to the room did not even lock.

When we arrived, we were met by the owner's toddler and had to search the house for over 10 minutes to locate the owners. There were toys all over the entry way and living room floor when we walked in as well.

We were disappointed to say the least. A $180 nightly rate should definitely guarantee certain ammenities. I felt like we were taken advantage of.

We will stay in a hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besttosimplify, Owner at Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
We apologize for this rare occurrence. We are usually well prepared sometimes waiting for hours before our guests. However, there are occasions when guests arrive hours earlier than expected. The Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast is our family home. Most often, guests do not even know there is a child in the house. This occurrence was an exception rather than the rule. We take great care to make sure our guests are comfortable and happy in our home. Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed one night here and we wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds were much appreciated coming from a landscaper and gardener - it had a secret garden kind of ambiance to it with lots of outdoor seating. Inside was very cozy - the common room with a large fresh water fish tank, fire place, musical instruments and antiques. It was nice waking up to (and going to sleep to) classical music and the smells of delicious organic cooking. We stayed in the Bunny room, very cute with a large, clean bathroom. The cars in the driveway didn't bother us, they're just cars and weren't capable of affecting our lovely stay. Tom and Jennifer were very gracious and their son adorable. We're a young couple and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SASer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Staying at the Golden Pineapple is less like staying at a bed and breakfast and more like staying in a spare bedroom. The property and house are not well-kept. The weekend of our unfortunate visit, the upstairs TV room had been converted into another bedroom with a pull-out bed! The downstairs living room is cluttered with toys, the owners' computer and workspace, and other household items. We could not even relax on the back patio or in the garden, because the owners hosted a wedding reception during our stay that encompassed the entire first floor and all of the grounds! This would be fine, if any of the B&B guests were also guests at the wedding reception -- but none of us were! We attempted to sleep in one morning (as is the point of most B&Bs), but we were awoken early by the sound of all the other guests, as the acoustics in the house proved to be terrible. The organic breakfast was so disappointing that we skipped it the second morning. The "sweet and savories" available at all hours for guests consisted of an old bottle of Creme de Menthe and a basket of stale candies. Needless to say, if you are going to spend $185 a night, your money will be much better spent elsewhere!"

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goose08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east setauket, ny
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Although we only live ten minutes away, my husband and I had a wonderful and romantic night away from home. We loved walking down PJ, eating dinner and having some drinks and walking back . We had a great night sleep - the beds were very comfortable. We had Tom's homemade PC the next day and they were delicious - so much so that we are going back to buy some to make at home for our kids.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
0.5 mi away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
4.4 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
10.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast

Property: Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast
Address: 201 Liberty Ave, Port Jefferson, NY 11777-2010
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the elegance and grace of the 1900's at The Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast. The Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast is an enchanting Victorian home located in historic Port Jefferson, New York. Steps away, the quaint harbor-side village of Port Jefferson, beckon visitors with a vast array of unique shops, restaurants to suit any palate and a plethora of interesting historical and recreational activities throughout the year. We are less than 1 mile from the Long Island rail road and the ferry. The University of Stony Brook is approximate 5 miles from us. The vineyards are 30 minutes away. Further pamper yourself with on-site acupuncture and massage therapy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing