We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon was great”

WAVE Seafood Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
WAVE Seafood Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Dining at Danfords is an experience like no other: one that delights your palate as you soak in the sights of the spectacular Long Island Sound. Our new WAVE Seafood Kitchen offers upscale seafood cuisine and a farm to table concept with fresh local produce and regional catch as the driving force. WAVEs hip lounge offers a more relaxed adaptation of the regular menu and seasonally-inspired cocktails so there's something for everyone at Danfords. Perfect for that special celebration or for a treat any day, we're open for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day - and on Sundays for our famous brunch. Come see what's here for you.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Salmon was great”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Salmon was pricey but delicious. View was good. This is very small restaurant inside the hotel. Breakfast was not great though

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FBTurco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefJB_1, Public Relations Manager at WAVE Seafood Kitchen, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for leaveing a positive review. Our menu is focused on region seafood, and quality ingredients. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    74
    35
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Coram
1 review
“Fresh fish done right!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

First time at Wave and definitely can't wait to go back! The food (I got the grilled salmon) was amazing and so fresh! We decided to sample the desert menu...great decision on our part! So good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheF00dDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefJB_1, Public Relations Manager at WAVE Seafood Kitchen, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for leaveing a positive review. Our menu is focused on region seafood, and quality ingredients. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don t go to the wave”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My friends and I were very disappointed in our dining experience. The quality of the food did in no way demand the prices charged. Some of my friends ordered a fish dish with lobster mashed potatoes. We all agreed that the potatoes looked like a lump of cat food. the fish was dry and overdone. My other friend ordered a beef dish that was satisfactory at best. The service was good and the dessert was excellent. We will never go there again...a disparity between quality and price charged.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 509Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefJB_1, Head Chef at WAVE Seafood Kitchen, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of WAVE Seafood Kitchen. We apologize for the delay in responding to your critique. We are terribly sorry that you did not have an enjoyable dining experience. We have received many great comments from our guests, but we are working hard to make sure every guest has a great culinary experience. All feedback is helpful to us and we have made your experience a learning tool for our cooks & chefs each day we are learning how to be better. We welcome the opportunity to have you return to our restaurant and see what our food is truly about. Please contact us at jbunbury@danfords.com to discuss your experience with us.

Thank you,
Chef Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Seafood I've Ever Tasted!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I have shared romantic dinners there by the Long Island Sound and candlelight. We've even shared a large table with close friends. This is the restaurant to visit if you are looking for great tasting seafood as well as other non-seafood dishes. I highly recommend the Seared Atlantic Sea Scallops and the Atlantic Salmon. If seafood isn't your choice of dish, the Filet of Rib Eye or Crusted Chicken Breast is another way to go to really satisfy your taste buds. The Banana Creme Brulee for dessert is amazing! Bon Appetit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefJB_1, Head Chef at WAVE Seafood Kitchen, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We would like to thank you for leaveing a positive review. Our menu is focused on region seafood, and quality ingredients. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at Wave - Delish!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food was excellent! My husband and I were very happy with the atmosphere and quality of food. We will definitely return!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WAVE Seafood Kitchen also viewed

Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to WAVE Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing