We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of Tarry Lodge

Tarry Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Tarry Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 124 Restaurants in Port Chester
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Abendroth Avenue
Transit: Just blocks away from the Port Chester station of Metro North Railway.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

What's not to love about a moderately priced Mario Batali restaurant that actually cares about the food it serves? Mario's food is basic, often rustic, but done with the freshest of ingredients, made to order for the most part, and it doesn't disappoint. Tarry Lodge has a hodgepodge of rooms- but no matter. You come for the food, not the surroundings. But definitely, always, get a reservation. It is difficult to get in, even on a weekday night, without one. They are always busy. Once you try the food, you will know why.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DKK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    128
    69
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of the best restaurants in the Fairfield/Westchester county. The food is always amazing and well prepared. The only two downsides are parking and actually getting a reservation/table, but those are marks of a popular destination.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great bar for a late afternoon drink or bite”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We didn't get any food, but it looked delicious. Had a great drink made with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice with a very accommodating bartender in a lovely atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephaniaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food for any occasion”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have managed to eat here a number of times and have to say it's one of my favorite restaurants in Westchester. Not sure why it has taken me so long to write a review, except that everyone else's review are dead on.

Had the pesce mista and found the seafood interesting, though not my particular taste. We ordered the lamb chops and black spaghetti and both of the dishes were excellent. My lamb, which I wanted medium rare was tender and prepared in a way that even my wife, who dislikes lamb, was able to enjoy.

The wine choices are good, though don't let the price indicate which wine you'll like better. I actually like the firriato more than the barolo.

For dessert, we had the semifreddo and panettone, which were great.

Now I have been here twice before for brunch and have found their food excellent. Brunch is the way to go since you can still be seated without worrying too much about the crowd.

To start, got the carne and pesce mista, which was a nice mix. The $20 prix fixe brunch is worth it and they even throw an ok wine in for another $5. I actually opted for the brazino this time, though I had gotten the lamb, and the fish was excellent, though I wish they gave me the whole side. I posted a picture, so you can see. I didn't hear one complaint, except my boys wanted the pizza from Arthur Ave, but aside from them no one had a reason to complain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Even better than the first time. Three very hungry diners and each dish was excellent . Memory served us well and we will return next time we are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dsn624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarry Lodge also viewed

Port Chester, Westchester County
Port Chester, Westchester County
 
Port Chester, Westchester County
Port Chester, Westchester County
 
Port Chester, Westchester County
Port Chester, Westchester County
 

Been to Tarry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing