We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a winner”
Review of Tarry Lodge

Tarry Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Tarry Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 124 Restaurants in Port Chester
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Abendroth Avenue
Transit: Just blocks away from the Port Chester station of Metro North Railway.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent Italian food, authentic to Italy and a nice contrast to the more Italian American restaurants that abound in Westchester. Fantastic wood fired pizza, fresh bread and the right mix of pastas and meat/seafood. The wine list is very good, including a good array of dessert wines, and they serve locally brewed beers. And the service is great. My favourite place, though you had probably guessed that by now....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    125
    69
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Batali Influences Westchester”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

So glad to see the menu didnt shy away from Guanciales, lardo, and bottarga. Having been to Babbo countless times, and many of the rest of Mario Batali and Joseph Bastianichs creations, I thought the menu would be "watered down" in a way, feeding the crowds in Port Chester, but I was pleasantly surprised! The pizza we had was topped with black truffles, guanciales, mushrooms and truffle oil and it was much better than a similar pizza we had at Otto on 8th street in Manhattan
We also had Vitello Tonnato, which I hadn't had since I was in Italy and it was just ok. The vegeta-
bles Re always perfectly cooked . The only complaint was the noise. Eating dinner before 6pm we thought we would be there before the crowds and be able to have a conversation without straining our voices, but that was not the case. And dining with an elderly person made it Unenjoyable for her, not being able to hear us. I probably won't go back any time soon, because I prefer Mario's
restaurants in Manhattan. I think the restaurant is good for diners on the young side who don't mind loud conversations and are out to have a great night, enjoying the wine, food and the crowds

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Varvara63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington park
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch date”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went t tarry lodge was an charming place to go for Sunday lunch. Had appetizers, salmon app and buratta app, and they were excellent. The pizzas were interesting and had a beautifully crisp crust. We had the anchovy pizza and also the meatball jalapeño pizza. Went shopping at tarry market when we were finished. Very nice store....smaller version, much smaller version of eataly, but they had wonderful foods.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dugan2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big reputation to match”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a special place and you come here with raised expectations because of the Batali/Bastianich reputation. The food is very good, antipast of assorted cured meats to start and Lamb chops as main course. My wife had the Brazino which was also very good. I was pleasantly surprised by the wine. We started with the Bastianich Brut and switched to the Bastianich Vespa Rosso with our meal. Both were excellent and fairly priced.
Service could be a bit more polished and it does get noisy...but hey it was a Friday night! I think the place would be ranked higher if not for the pedigree of the owners. Overall a very good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've been here three times. We tried different items on the menu. My conclusion is that if you know how to cook, then why bother paying so much for food that is just average? I guess if you are too tired to cook and need something to eat, then go spend the money. But these really are very simple meals to make at home. For those who are health conscious, you should be aware that the gluten-free pasta that is offered at Tarry Lodge is a corn and rice blend that contains mono- and diglycerides, which is a trans fat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenMonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarry Lodge also viewed

Port Chester, Westchester County
Port Chester, Westchester County
 
Port Chester, Westchester County
Port Chester, Westchester County
 
Port Chester, Westchester County
Port Chester, Westchester County
 

Been to Tarry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing