We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent to good, but a little too much attitude”
Review of Nessa - CLOSED

Nessa
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wilkins Ave
Transit: Port Chester Train Station Metro North just a few blocks away.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent to good, but a little too much attitude”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

So, the food is good, maybe even better than good in certain cases, but like several other restaurants in the area, they think they're in Manhattan, when this is Port Chester. If they could drop the trying to be dark and cool and just celebrate the food, it might be more enjoyable. Pastas and bruschetta were good. Octopus appetizer was a little rubbery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greenwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service wont be back”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently moved to the area and tried Nessa. Had a nice table outside, ready to enjoy a casual meal and wine with my lady. Then the rudest waiter I have experienced in a very long time ruined our night. Everything we inquired about, like "any special dishes it is our first time here, or do you have a Malbec, or can you describe a dish" was met with almost utter disdain. Even my lovely, kind hearted and relaxed European GF said "wow this guy is pretty rude". Hi sname was Christopher, and on a $100 bill he got $1, and maybe that was too much. Unfortunate, but I have to say that we won't be back, maybe this guy will get fired for being rude to PAYING customers at some point and we will try it again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank justin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tiny but great appetizer disappointing entre”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a loud restaurant where conversation is difficult. The wait staff has a lot to learn and the menu is really different. I found the gorgonzola bruschetta to be excellent but the 2 quarter size pieces where really tiny even at only $3. I found the raviloi to be heavy and the sauce was overpowered by the balsamic vinegar. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food at this hidden gem”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am so pleased that a friend told us about Nessa. Somewhat unusual spot, but well worth tracking down. Every bite of food we had was just excellent -- appetizers, main courses and desserts. We particularly enjoyed the bruschetta appetizer -- different varieties and cut into pieces, great for sharing -- and the Nutella and banana dessert, yum! Pasta cooked just right. The service was quite good as well and it is a lovely place -- dark and intimate feeling, but definitely casual and with more of a hip/upscale vibe. Prices are pretty typical for the area, but I do think the food is well worth it. Many places in the area charge high prices for very average food -- there is nothing average about Nessa. Definitely going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Romantic get away”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I went to this Rest. and ate outside on the patio. Excellent food very nice atmosphere. Prices are reasonable. The food is absolutely magnificent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nessa also viewed

Port Chester, Westchester County
Port Chester, Westchester County
 
Port Chester, Westchester County
Port Chester, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing