We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and wonderful service”
Review of Iron Horse Grille - CLOSED

Iron Horse Grille
Price range: $0 - $100
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food and wonderful service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After two visits, the Iron Horse Grille is a new favorite. The menu offers something for everyone, and the fish entrees are particularly innovative. Solid wine list, with half-bottles available. Service is professional, but still friendly and helpful. The chef/owner wanders through the dining room talking with the regulars - and he remembered us after only one previous visit. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doodles_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Westchester's Best”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Iron Horse Grille, tucked away in the Pleasantville train station and close to the Jacob Burns Cinema, is consistently excellent, innovative and inspiring. Their Price Fixe 3-course dinner at $49 permits choices from their vast menu, including specials of the day, with Phil, the Chef and Proprietor, creating masterful taste combinations with artistic presentation. The restaurant always capitalizes on seasonal produce of unusual variety - - such as stuffed squash blossoms or heirlooom tomatoes - - and their appetizers are adventurous and memorable: try the Portabello mushroom sliders; the mission figs with prosciutto; the scallops; or for a tasting treat - - available Monday through Friday - - try a combination of any 3 of any appetizers or desserts, for $29.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious Dinner!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our meal on our first visit to the Iron Horse. I had arctic char with with a light pesto glaze and my husband had halibut - both wonderful. Our only minor complaint is we had to wait a bit beyond our reservation time, but really just a minor hiccup in an otherwise wonderful "date night" experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Somersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb ingredients and cuisine, top-notch service and value”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My dining companion was Innkeeper Tom from Alexander Hamilton House Bed + Breakfast in Croton-on-Hudson, NY. We each had the 5-course tasting menu so we sampled broadly. The food was superb and Chef Phil has a way with all things that come out of his kitchen and in particular, fish. We had tuna sashimi, a cod dish, and a wonderful phyllo-wrapped deep fried shrimp. We had wonderful zucchini ravioli, roasted golden tomato soup, and peeky-toe crab timbale. The highlight was a two-chop lamb roast served au jus and with velvet polenta topped with a sweet/sour apricot. The service was professional, attentive, respectful, and obviously well trained. Dessert was honey ice cream in a pastry shell floating in berry confit and the other dessert was 8-layer yellow cake filled with chocolate butter cream, crunchy praline, and paired well with coffee ice cream. Everything is made in house with love, a high degree of knowledge, and the very freshest ingredients. Chef Phil and all staff make it seem simple. There was not one off note, and we floated out of the building, which is the renovated former Pleasantville train station. The money spent is well worth the value received. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StoddardCornerBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A superior restaurant in a pleasant setting, in Westchester County, NY”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very good food and a good wine cellar as well. Give your special friends a gift certificate for dinner here-they will be delighted. Not in expensive but really worth it. Now a favorite of several of our friends.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank RuthRogersClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Horse Grille also viewed

Pleasantville, Westchester County
Pleasantville, Westchester County
 
Pleasantville, Westchester County
Pleasantville, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing