We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no service. no stay”
Review of Olive Ridley's

Olive Ridley's
Ranked #65 of 149 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: American
Description: Olive Ridley's Taphouse & Grill Restaurant and Lounge is a hometown restaurant and lounge that provides fresh, handcrafted food and live entertainment!
Restaurant details
Description: Olive Ridley's Taphouse & Grill Restaurant and Lounge is a hometown restaurant and lounge that provides fresh, handcrafted food and live entertainment!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I are from out of town. It was my birthday on a Monday. Few places in Plattsburg are open on Mondays so we were happy to see Olive's sign lit up. We walked in. A small crowd was at a table in the bar area and some around the bar. No one acknowledged us. Finally an over-worked bar tender told us we could find our own seats in the dining area. And then we waited. And waited. No menus. No drinks. We got up and left. We can't comment on the food. The service was so non-existent. We walked out just an unnoticed as how we walked in.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
1  Thank menoman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

was a little noisy for me-college crowd- we ate on the side walk tables and the meal and service was very good

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019

Stopped here for a quick bite. Typical bar food. Chi ken wings, turkey burger & Cowboy burger. Cold beer. Good service. Huge restaurant & bar. Food ok.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WANDERLUSTinMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Some friends and I stopped in here for lunch on a Friday. We wanted to try somewhere new that had a 'nice menu and craft beer'. We found their menu online and it looked good, so we hunted the place down.

The place is right downtown near the used book store and a bunch of shops, restaurants and bars. The outside looks a bit battered and weathered and inside it feels like a college bar. It's got a big bar, lots of rooms, lots of tables, dart boards and so on. They were playing some good old school Rock music and there were just a few other patrons there.

Our bartender/server was excellent. She remained very attentive to our orders and gave us a great overview of the beers on tap, as well as the local breweries and attractions. Her input was very good!

We ordered some Kilcoyne burgers (all very good... cooked right and tasty... the only downside were the buns - they were sort of bland and dry) - I had mine with regular fries and my friends upgraded to garlic fries and avocado and bacon fries... all quite good. We tried an appetizer - some sort of beef bites on a small piece of bread. The meat was cooked nicely and the flavors were good, but the portion was a bit small for the price. We washed it down with some excellent selections of local craft beers... very good.

Overall, this is a nice college style bar with a good selection of beer and decent food. The service is exceptional - quick, attentive, and knowledgeable. I'd recommend this for a casual lunch with friends!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We came here on a suggestion and it was well worth it. The food was excellent. Definitely suggest the wings. The drinks were reasonably priced. and the staff was awesome. I never got the guys name who took care of us early in the evening. but Nelson was fantastic and very attentive with his awesome multitasking skills needed to be a good bartender.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Travelbutterfly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Ridley's also viewed

 

Been to Olive Ridley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing