We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food”
Review of Ground Round

Ground Round
Ranked #16 of 130 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The bar is a great place for having a beer and burger, though the menu has many options as well. More of a sports bar scene, but decent. Dining room more family style.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    26
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thursday= Wings and tower beer night”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

For a very cheap price, you can have 20 wings and a huge beer tower that can serve 6 pints! Best deal ever!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mzjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Nothing special about this place food was ok service is slow didn't want to hear about my waiters partying habits the night before didn't get a thank you onion rings half cooked

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
343 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good Food. Great Place to enjoy with Friends”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

There are very few Ground Rounds left here in my area. Years ago I enjoyed meeting friends and watching sports on TV, wings, beer, etc. In recent years many have closed up, so during a recent trip to Plattsburgh I was happy to see one of my favorite haunts still in existance.

My wife and I stopped for lunch. Because of its name we decided that beef was the food to order, so we both chose burgers from the menu. I enjoyed a INFERNO BURGER which included Jalapeño jack cheese and jalapeño pepper slices atop a chipotle seasoned burger with a special inferno sauce. It also included a side as well as a cup of their spicey soup that you could use as a dipping sauce. My wife had a BRUSCHETTA BURGER which included freshly prepared bruschetta, mozzarella cheese, lettuce, onion and pickle. The beef was done perfectly and everything was fresh and tasty.

Our server, Wendy was helpful, and attentive.

This was a very good lunch, and brought back old memories of my days at the Ground Round in Syracuse, NY. Miss you guys! Next trip to Plattsburgh will include another stop here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenGruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Did not Disappoint”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Decided on Ground Round for Lunch. Had not been in for awhile. Our waitress was very hospitable and food passed the test again, no disappointment here. If your looking for consistency and competitive prices, this is a good place to go whether your looking for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ground Round also viewed

 

Been to Ground Round? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing