We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable But Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
GreenLeadersSilver level
Smithfield, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable But Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times during travel to Plattsburgh. Have always found the rooms to be clean and comfortable but nothing special. I do like the fact that the windows open as I would much rather have fresh air rather than the AC running.

The bar is OK but the restaurant area is really plain and feels like a bunch of tables set-up in just another conference room. There are a number of really good restaurant choices nearby so why choose this one. You can eat at the bar as well and at least you should have some company if you are travelling alone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We do apologize for any inconveniences regarding your dining. We appreciate the commentary nonetheless. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    44
    17
    14
See reviews for
74
54
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
295 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay in hotels 300+ nights yearly for work and this hotel is in my top 10%. The building and grounds are well kept, check-in was fast and friendly, the continental breakfast was free! (usually you pay for a full menu breakfast at holiday inn). I appreciate all the employees hard work. I shows!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We appreciate the review, and are very happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our free continental breakfast. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped in Plattsburgh, NY for a night after leaving Canada and stayed at this hotel. Room was average and that was probably the best part. In the lounge, bartender had no vermouth to make martinis, so had ultra dry ones (straight gin on ice). Dinner in the restaurant would have been better if they'd opened a Banquet frozen food package and prepared it. Breakfast the next morning was the most spartan complimentary breakfast we've ever had. Find another hotel!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here; find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kal-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We apologize if we were out of stock in Vermouth, however we do regularly have Vermouth and martinis available to our guests We do have breakfast as complimentary in restaurant although it is not required for Holiday inn.. We apologize for any other inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for taking your time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapides des joachims
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights over the holiday week-end and were pleased with our stay. The hotel is old and doesn't have what I am used to at a new HI but that was fine. The breakfast was not all that great but they did offer a hot breakfast selection for more money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markus664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed one night with family. Big room, confortable double beds. Pool was closed when we arrived at 10 pm, but seemed clean.

The wifi signal was weak.

Great continental breakfast, nice staff, convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia22-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Magnolia22-03,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the internet connection. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in the Month of August just before Labor day. Hotel was not overcrowded and prices were mediocre given that it was summer rates. There was plenty of parking and the hotel was very well kept. Room were renovated and clean. What we enjoyed were the choices of pillows we had. You could order firm, soft, med, pillows for side sleepers, back sleepers, it was fantastic. The beds were ok for us, a bit too soft but that's just being picky. They have large flat screen LCD TV's in the room with microwave, coffee maker and mini-fridge. The only complaint I had was that the walls seemed a little thin. We could here the neighbor coughing and his phone ringing in the late hours of the night.
We did enjoy the toiletries they provided which was from Bath & Body Works - Coconut/Lime scented. Very refreshing in the morning.
Unfortunately, we didn't take advantage of the breakfast. Closed at 10am and by the time we woke up and got ready to go, breakfast was over.
Would we stay here again, maybe, but not at summer rates.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not facing the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacatravelerMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As the titel says we won this hotel with priceline secret deal. We only needed a hotel for 1 night so we were not so fusy. We were happy that we've won the Holiday inn because we stayed in Holiday Inn hotels before also in Europe and it is always ok.
At the check inn it looked like the girl at the front desk changed her attitude when she found out we booked with price line.
She looked in the computer and found the worst room in the hotel with a double bed for me and my daughter and near the elevator.
I dont expect to get a penthouse but a 2 double bed room would have been nice.
The hotel is very big so expect to walk a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear robijntje,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are very sorry for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the service we provide to our guests.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#4 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plattsburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Address: 412 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plattsburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in splendor at the foot of the Adirondack Mountains-wander through a city with a historical background-then tour beautiful Lake Champlain. The Holiday Inn Hotel Plattsburgh is conveniently located at the intersection of I-87 and Route 3 at Exit 37. The Plattsburgh Holiday Inn hasWireless and Wired Internet connections, new beds and pillows, and a comfortable, home-like atmosphere, we are proud to say that we have the finest property of all the Plattsburgh Hotels. We are minutes away from many local businesses and just a short drive to all area attractions. Lake Champlain, Ausable Chasm, and CVPH (Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital) are just some of the locations that are minutes away. Also, Burlington, VT is just an hour from our entrance. We are also just 1 hour from Lake Placid, the Olympic Center, and for skiing, the internationally famous Whiteface Mountain. The Canadian Border is only 25 minutes away and Montreal, QC is an hour from our I-87 exit. During the summer, there are several professional and amateur Plattsburgh Fishing Tournaments that take place right on Lake Champlain. Whatever your reason for coming-business or pleasure-let our friendly and professional staff at the Plattsburgh Holiday Inn show you the North Country's famous hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh Hotel Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing