We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprised in a good way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed at several Holiday Inn's. This one has a bar with a restaurant. They also have a pool table, dart board and some video game. The room I stayed in was quiet and had kind of a euro feel to it. The bathroom sink area is a little small but not an issue for me.

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor. The restaurant closesat 9:00 PM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWags52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, and thank you for leaving us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 233 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at this place on January 29, 2013. We have gotten to like staying at Holiday Inn Expresses and did not realize that this was a Holiday Inn, non-Express. One big plus for the Holiday Inn Expresses is the awesome breakfast buffet. We figured that this Holiday Inn would be a step-up (if possible).

The breakfast situation was very confusing which we never got a chance to understand. There is apparently a free continental breakfast but you can have additional items for extra cost. There is a menu in the inroom looseleaf which mentions food and cost but it is not clear whether this is for the dining room or for room service.

Well, the breakfast area is supposedly open from 6:30 to 10:00 AM. I went to the area at 9:10. There was nobody in the room and no food was out. As I looked for someone either at the front desk or food area, the staff person rolled a cart into the room and started to put out cereal. I asked about the breakfast. She said she was putting it out and seemed annoyed that I was confused. Again, there was absolutely nothing available, and who knows how long it would have taken to get food set-up. Perhaps she was setting up for the next day. Who knows?? We ended up going to Perkins across the street. The room was $ 116.54. We feel cheated. Holdiay Inn owes us $ 20 for the food we did not get!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Charles F,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am sorry for any confusion about breakfast. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is very clean, the people are nice and it's quiet. Enjoied the hot-tub room, the pool and simple free breakfast. The only thing I didn't like was instead of slipping your final bill under the door of your room , they left it outside the room on the hall floor. The fact that it has your name, address and charges clearly stated makes this a violation of privacy that bothers me.

Room Tip: Hot-tub rooms have awesome king beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADKGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are so glad to hear that you found our hotel clean! We apologize for your bill being placed outside your room, our staff has been notified of this mistake, as we have worked to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for taking your time to write this review, we truly appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the time we walked into the hotel, and were greeted, and offered warm cookies from Dianne, until we left the next day, this property offered second to none hospitality. The first person you meet sets the tone, and Dianne was welcoming, and hospitable. Kudos to Dianne, and to this property for hiring her!! Good move!
The room was clean, comfortable, nice towels (not always the case!), and the bed was so comfortable we did not want to even think about getting out of it in the morning. Breakfast was good, but heavy on the carbs, and the one use glasses and cutlery are no longer acceptable, but the person "hosting" was warm and polite, and helpful. What can I say? I have stayed at lots of hotels, and this one was THE BEST!! Great job. Thank you for a most comfortable night, during a snow storm.
And almost forgot -- the pool and hot tub were great too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieK126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are pleased to hear that you found our front desk staff welcoming and hospitable. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The first thing I rate a hotel on is the quality of the bed and the rest I got. Well the pillows were flat so that kinda explains my review. Nothing was really wrong or right, it was adequate, I thought the price was high for the value. I will say the quality of the building was fair... for example the stripping was lifting up from the carpet inside the elevator. It was bad enough that I needed to report it before someone got hurt. Obviously wasn't there long enough to really check the place thouroughly out. You can't go wrong or right if you stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businesstraveler486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your comments. It is nice to know that you liked our location and found our room accommodations comfortable. I regret that the incident that happened during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused and I want to assure you that this will be looked into.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we were coming back from long island new york, we were told that they were a hour wait at the border to get bck home, we decided to spend the night. The room was clean the beds very comfortable, the bathroom was clean but very small, the continental breakfast was ok.
we would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My sister and I had an excellent time at the Holiday Inn in Plattsburg. We came here to see the fall foliage, and we couldn't have had a better stay. The hotel is very well located. It is very close to the outlet mall, but what made our stay so much more pleasant and special was the service provided, especially by Sam, the manager and owner. He absolutely went above and beyond to help us. We went from Brazil to Plattsburg, so as you can imagine we were a bit lost in the area. Sam was kind enough to personally arrange the car rental for us and also drove us to the car rental place at the airport. He gave us all the directions to go to Boston by car, called the car rental place in Boston for us and also told us about the scenic drive and places to visit.
We would DEFINITELY go back, thank you very much Holiday Inn for the excelent stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
864 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plattsburgh

Address: 412 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plattsburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range: $101 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in splendor at the foot of the Adirondack Mountains-wander through a city with a historical background-then tour beautiful Lake Champlain. The Holiday Inn Hotel Plattsburgh is conveniently located at the intersection of I-87 and Route 3 at Exit 37. The Plattsburgh Holiday Inn hasWireless and Wired Internet connections, new beds and pillows, and a comfortable, home-like atmosphere, we are proud to say that we have the finest property of all the Plattsburgh Hotels. We are minutes away from many local businesses and just a short drive to all area attractions. Lake Champlain, Ausable Chasm, and CVPH (Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital) are just some of the locations that are minutes away. Also, Burlington, VT is just an hour from our entrance. We are also just 1 hour from Lake Placid, the Olympic Center, and for skiing, the internationally famous Whiteface Mountain. The Canadian Border is only 25 minutes away and Montreal, QC is an hour from our I-87 exit. During the summer, there are several professional and amateur Plattsburgh Fishing Tournaments that take place right on Lake Champlain. Whatever your reason for coming-business or pleasure-let our friendly and professional staff at the Plattsburgh Holiday Inn show you the North Country's famous hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh Hotel Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing