We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Canadians shopping trip or US travellers wants better value than Montreal hotels...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
GreenLeadersSilver level
frankyvw
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For Canadians shopping trip or US travellers wants better value than Montreal hotels...”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were on holiday break and wanted to go shopping in the US for christmas sales. We took two nights at this hotel because its over the street of the Walmart and right beside Highway 87. The swimming pool and spa is awesome with kids and the food for the included breakfast was awesome. But please do not advertise "Maple syrup" when you serve "Aunt Jamaima" crappy corn syrup with pancakes... Come on, its not for $0.40 per serving of real maple syrup that the hotel will go bankrupt... Very good service at the front desk, supplied us small bed for our 2 years old daughter and utensils for pizza we had delivered. Will go back there for Lake placid ski trip and more shopping for sure! No bathroom fan ventilation so odors stays long...

Room Tip: No fan ventilation in the bathroom so nasty odors stays long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Excellent the kind of tag line we like to hear. I am glad you enjoyed the location.We will share the review with hotel staff. I have check our service log and make sure the bathroom ventilaion issues you noted had been fixed.We do have bathroom ventilation system throught the hotel rooms. Also we make sure that we do have maple syrup for the breakfast in restaurant.. Again thank you for staying with us and will see you agin soon.
Guest Relation Manager.
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    68
    45
    17
    14
See reviews for
76
57
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The rooms are newly refurbished with 37 inch LCD TV wih HD channels,fridge and microwave in the rooms. Rooms are spacious and have nice big pool with hot tub. We enjoyed the dinner and food was excellent. They have complimentary continental breakfast too.Nice lounge atomosphere with pool table.we enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suny79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for recently staying with us and for taking time to share your experience with others. Our entire staff takes a lot of pride in providing excellent guest service and it's very nice to hear that it made a difference in your stay. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very polite and helpful. Sam has been running a great hotel for years. I always stay here when I am in town on business. The recently added Continental breakfast is well run and has an excellent selection

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your great review with us on Trip Advisor. It is a great compliment when a guest points out how well staff handles the day to day duties. I will definitely share your comments with my entire staff during our next staff meeting and let them know to keep up the great work! Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Our family had 9 rooms for 3-6 nights for our fathers funeral. The staff was very friendly and tended to all our needs...offering us a private room to meet in and have dinner. The only complaint would be the wine choice in the bar...not very big.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCS619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Plattsburgh,NY.. Your comments and feedback have been shared with our employees and we are dedicated to making our guests 100% satisfied. We continue to strive in guest service and we look forward to having you return to the Plattsburgharea and we hope that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We were in Plattsburgh, NY for work for a week and had a very nice stay at the Holiday Inn. It seems to be recently refurbished. I like that there was a little frig and microwave in the room and the staff were really nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnewt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your favorable comments and constructive feedback regarding your recent stay. My team and I sincerely appreciate your business and for choosing the Holiday Inn Plattsburgh,NY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I want to be fair. I appreciate that this Holiday Inn attempted a renovation and tried to improve what was clearly an outdated property. They added new carpeting, furniture, television, and bathroom fixtures. Still, as you can see from the photographs the hotel still isn't adequate for a business traveler. The desk is in the corner on a small table with inadequate seating, lighting, and insufficient electrical outlets. The hotel WiFi is impossibly slow and frequently disconnects.

The hotel bar in the lobby is vintage 1980s with a pool table (complete with Budweiser light) and a video game. Really. Restaurant pricing is high.

They DID recognize PC Platinum status at check in and gave a "goody bag" with chips, water, and a granola bar. Beyond that, however there was no club level or executive suites better suited to a business traveler.

Not much they can do to improve upon the situation - but I'm pleased that they tried. Still, next time I'm going to the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback as both negative and positive comments help us to improve! I am sorry that we do not have executive suites or club level. We do have many compliments for doing fantastic job on renovation. We do have extra electrical outlet at desk since renovation. We do not have any internet issue heard during your stay as we do not know if you had contacted front desk for the issue but if you give us room number and name by calling us at 518-561-5000 we can certainly looked in the issue. We do have both business and leisure travelers staying with us . Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here one night while traveling back to Canada. I had a nice quiet room on the main floor. King size bed and in room hot tub. What a treat! Flat screen TV. Asked for feather pillows but they did not turn up.

Ate dinner at the hotel dining room. Very empty which is too bad as the meal was very good. They also serve breakfast which is a disappointment. There is a continental breakfast which is of poor quality. You can also order off the menu but I only wanted a simple, inexpensive breakfast. This was too simple. No muffins, almost out of yogurt, bagel rather dry and unappealing. Coffee on the cool side. Also a uniform on the dining staff would be much appreciated. A little too casual and laid back for good serivce and to give the right impression.

There is a laundry room and a pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review on TripAdvisor. Sorry to hear that you did not receive the feather pillow. Our restaurant do have some budy hours and slow hours like other restaurants.The continental breakfast we served is a courtesy from us as Holiday Inn do not have free breakfast. We do have muffins ,yogurt on breakfast items. We are looking to improve the breakfast and uniform for the staff. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#5 of 14 in Plattsburgh
860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plattsburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Address: 412 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plattsburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in splendor at the foot of the Adirondack Mountains-wander through a city with a historical background-then tour beautiful Lake Champlain. The Holiday Inn Hotel Plattsburgh is conveniently located at the intersection of I-87 and Route 3 at Exit 37. The Plattsburgh Holiday Inn hasWireless and Wired Internet connections, new beds and pillows, and a comfortable, home-like atmosphere, we are proud to say that we have the finest property of all the Plattsburgh Hotels. We are minutes away from many local businesses and just a short drive to all area attractions. Lake Champlain, Ausable Chasm, and CVPH (Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital) are just some of the locations that are minutes away. Also, Burlington, VT is just an hour from our entrance. We are also just 1 hour from Lake Placid, the Olympic Center, and for skiing, the internationally famous Whiteface Mountain. The Canadian Border is only 25 minutes away and Montreal, QC is an hour from our I-87 exit. During the summer, there are several professional and amateur Plattsburgh Fishing Tournaments that take place right on Lake Champlain. Whatever your reason for coming-business or pleasure-let our friendly and professional staff at the Plattsburgh Holiday Inn show you the North Country's famous hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh Hotel Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing